THE PRAYER OF AGREEMENT2

BIBLE DEVOTIONS

I am very excited about our topic over the next few days, because this is a prayer my husband and I pray often!  When we, as a married couple, or with your best Godly friend, come in agreement we see results within a day, literally!  We have come in agreement for miraculous healings, finances, our children, various family members who were in a serious struggle of some kind and have seen it work!  This isn’t someone else’s experience I am telling you about, it is my own firsthand!

Grab your coffee, precious reader, and let’s get right to it!

THE PRAYER OF AGREEMENT

Now let’s look at the prayer of agreement as Jesus taught in Matthew 18.

Matthew 18:19

King James Version (KJV)

19 Again I say unto you, That if two of you shall agree on earth as touching any thing that they shall ask, it shall be done for them of my Father which is in heaven.

Don’t put any limitations on that scripture.  Jesus didn’t.  Let’s just take Him at His Word.  It’s like the story I sometimes tell about the young girl whose father kept insisting that the Scriptures didn’t mean what they said.  She replied, “Well, if Jesus didn’t mean what He said, why didn’t he say what He meant?”

I believe Jesus said what He meant and means what He said!  In order for Matthew 18:19 to work there just has to be two of us to agree, and we have to be on the earth.  That fits us.  then all we have to do is agree in line with God’s Word as touching anything that we shall ask.  And the Bible says it shall be granted us.

Notice that Jesus said, “…it SHALL BE DONE for them of my Father which is in heaven.”  (Matthew 18:19).  The strongest assertion one can make in the English language is to say, “I shall” or “I will.”  You can’t make any stronger statement than that.  In the Book of John Jesus said, “ If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I WILL DO IT” (John 14:14).

P.C. Nelson, who was a Greek scholar, was talking to some of us ministers between services at a convention I once attended.  He said he always did all of his personal reading and private devotions from the Greek because he said the Greek language was more beautiful than the English. 

Rev. Nelson said that there were a number of Greek idioms that could not be translated in the English language.  He said the English language doesn’t have any counterpart for those words.

The translators made the strongest statement they could in the English language, but Rev. Nelson said the more literal rendering of John 14:14 in the Greek is, “If you shall ask anything in My name, and I don’t have it, then I will make it for you.”  Praise God!  It’s just more beautiful to say it that way!

I believe it is important that we read Matthew 18:18-20 in order to get the full import of what Jesus is saying.

Matthew 18:18-20

King James Version (KJV)

18 Verily I say unto you, Whatsoever ye shall bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever ye shall loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.

19 Again I say unto you, That if two of you shall agree on earth as touching any thing that they shall ask, it shall be done for them of my Father which is in heaven.

20 For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.

I hope you were blessed by today’s Bible devotion!  May God bless you richly, precious reader!   Juliana

 

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

