abrahams intercession

CHRISTIAN DEVOTIONS

In Genesis chapter 18, we see the example of Abraham as one who stood in the gap on behalf of others.  When Abraham became aware of the impending judgement upon the inhabitants of Sodom and Gomorrah, he is interceded for them.  Let’s look at the example of Abraham in Genesis Chapter 18, who interceded or stood in the gap for others.

Genesis 18:23-32

23 And Abraham drew near, and said, Wilt thou also destroy the righteous with the wicked?

24 Peradventure there be fifty righteous within the city: wilt thou also destroy and not spare the place for the fifty righteous that are therein?

25 That be far from thee to do after this manner, to slay the righteous with the wicked: and that the righteous should be as the wicked, that be far from thee: Shall not the Judge of all the earth do right?

26 And the Lord said, If I find in Sodom fifty righteous within the city, then I will spare all the place for their sakes.

27 And Abraham answered and said, Behold now, I have taken upon me to speak unto the Lord, which am but dust and ashes:

28 Peradventure there shall lack five of the fifty righteous: wilt thou destroy all the city for lack of five? And he said, If I find there forty and five, I will not destroy it.

29 And he spake unto him yet again, and said, Peradventure there shall be forty found there. And he said, I will not do it for forty’s sake.

30 And he said unto him, Oh let not the Lord be angry, and I will speak: Peradventure there shall thirty be found there. And he said, I will not do it, if I find thirty there.

31 And he said, Behold now, I have taken upon me to speak unto the Lord: Peradventure there shall be twenty found there. And he said, I will not destroy it for twenty’s sake.

32 And he said, Oh let not the Lord be angry, and I will speak yet but this once: Peradventure ten shall be found there. And he said, I will not destroy it for ten’s sake.

When Abraham asked the Lord to spare the city if He should find fifty righteous people, the Lord said, “…If I find in Sodom fifty righteous within the city, then I will spare the place for their sakes” Genesis 18:26

Then Abraham said, “Lord, I’d just like to speak a little further to You, if You don’t mind.  (I’m putting this in my own words, but this the essence of what Abraham said.)  If there are forty-five righteous people there, would you spare the place for forty-five?” (v. 28).

In effect, the Lord answered Abraham, “Yes, I’ll do it, just because you have asked Me.  For forty-five righteous, I’ll spare the thousands who are there” (v. 28)

Then Abraham continued to ask the Lord to spare Sodom and Gomorrah, even if there were only forty, thirty-five, thirty, or twenty righteous inhabitants.

Finally, Abraham asked God to spare Sodom and Gomorrah for the sake of ten righteous people, and God agreed to stay judgement if ten righteous were found.  I believe Abraham surely thought there would be at least ten righteous in Sodom and Gomorrah.

Think about that!  God would have spared that city which was full of corruption and immorality for the sake of ten righteous people.  The Bible says God never changes, He is the same forever the same (Mal. 3:6).  Will He not do in our day what He did in Abraham’s day?

If under the Old Covenant Abraham interceded for other people and God heard him, how much more will God hear our prayers under the New Covenant?  Will He not hear our prayers for cities and nations for the sake of His children who live in them?  He will, if we’ll intercede as Abraham did!

We are covenant children, just as Abraham was.  However, we have an even better Covenant established upon better promises (Heb. 8:6).  And we have the authority in the Name of Jesus to help others through prayer and intercession and to effect a change in nations to the glory of God!

 

SOURCE:  “Bible Prayer Study Course” by Reverend Kenneth E. Hagin

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

