empty nesting is hard

                                                               My idea of the “Tiger Mom”.

Hubby and I are in the process of empty nesting for the second time.  The Rev. has flown away into the destiny God has waiting for him and my little nurse is studying for her last finals before nursing school begins. 

Hubby called me to tell me he is on his way home (a 500 mile trip).  I could tell he didn’t sound right.  I knew what it was.  It was the same thing I have done for two days.  Both of us were remembering the Rev’s first day of Kindergarten.  That horrible, wish I never knew the look, that was on his little face.  His face is an adult one now, but that look is still there.  That little boy is still behind those grown up eyes! 

This is the second time in three years the Rev. has left EVERYTHING known to him to venture into unchartered territory for God.  The first time was when we left him knowing no one and nothing about Broken Arrow, Oklahoma except it was where RHEMA was located and God had called him there.  Now again in Arkansas to begin his first Associate Pastor‘s job.  Thank God we know his pastors!  They were our daughter’s pastors in College Station, Texas when she was at Texas A&M. 

I know they will take good care of him.  A sweet lady has opened her home for him to stay there until he finds an apartment.  He described her as being much like our pastor’s wife.  I feel great relief by this because there is no greater lady on the earth besides my mother!

Hubby will come home, and the first part of the re-adjustment phase will begin.  The door will not swing open with Gracie barking as though Charles Manson has escaped prison and is coming in to murder us all!  I won’t go to the window to see if his car has made it back for the night.  I guess I will start sleeping on a regular schedule now.  There won’t be anymore UFC fights in the kitchen between him and hubby with me screaming, “Watch out for the dogs!!!”  Funny the things you never think of are the ones you will miss the most…except for Gracie’s yapping!!  That one is getting old FAST!!!!!!!!

At the same time, hubby and I will look at each other and on the spur of the moment say, “Let’s hook up the travel trailer and go.”  Right now, that is about all I can think of that will change very much.  I will get even more involved at church (something God has really been speaking to me about lately), and my ear will be to the phone much, much more! 

Keep the Rev. in your prayers, precious reader, and his mom even more!  Blessings to you in abundance as always!  Juliana

4 thoughts on “Empty Nesting: It is Harder the Second Time Around!

  1. Hang tight. It will get better; I promise. It will never be the same, but it will be a good different. That is hard to explain, but God always gives us the grace to adjust to the new while never really letting go of the past good memories. BUT we will be able to remember with joy. And really, this is the way we want it to be. It is all in the normal process of the circle of life. Letting our children go, mature, learn, make mistakes & messes, and having great successes and adventures. The Rev is in a good place, his place with God and though we don’t always think about it, God is really a better parent than we are and He really knows how to guide them safely through tomorrow. All is good and all is well. Remember, there is never a rainbow without the rain. Look for your rainbow.

  2. I will be lifting up you all Juliana! I love UFC and have no problem watching it alone though my hubby watches it with me. There’s no wrestling in the house but you will hear me yelling at the television and pounding my fists on my thighs! Lol.

    I can’t begin to know quite yet what this empty nest feeling feels like though I have been crying off and on for a while now. My oldest daughter is graduating from high school next month and then headed off to college. Reading your story brings me to tears yet I have joy for us both. God is watching over our loved ones!

    Keeping you lifted up and encouraged! God bless you my friend 🙂

    Terra

    1. Oh, I know that feeling…bittersweet! Thank you for those words of encouragement, Terra! Thank you for the prayers, too! I greatly appreciate them! I was shocked myself when I began to scream at the T.V. during a fight….even hubby dropped his jaw on that one! Lol!! You are precious, my friend! Many, many blessings to you!! Juliana

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

