Tongues a Means of Magnifying God

Christian Devotions

Good morning, precious reader!  As I mentioned yesterday I will be doing a Christian devotion series on praying in the Spirit.  I am basing my writings on Reverend Kenneth E. Hagin‘s “Bible Prayer Study Course”.  Everything you see in boldface and italics is from his book.  I love his writing because he made everything so simple and easy to grasp!   Grab your coffee or tea and let’s dig right in!

Tongues: A Means of Magnifying God

Speaking with tongues is also a way we can magnify God.  It says in Acts 10:46 concerning Cornelius and his household, “For they heard them speak with tongues, and MAGNIFY GOD….” 

I was a Christian minister for several years before I received the baptism in the Holy Spirit.  I used to go down to the barn and get up in the hayloft to pray.  I prayed and had some wonderful times with the Lord in prayer.

However, I still went away from those times disappointed, although I was blessed.  I would try to tell God how much I loved Him.  I would use all the descriptive adjectives I had at my disposal to tell God how wonderful He is.  I would exhaust my vocabulary and leave that place of prayer feeling disappointed in my spirit that I had not said what I wanted to say.  My spirit felt like I had cheated it.

It’s just like going to a restaurant to get something to eat.  I don’t mind paying for food when I get something to eat.  But, I don’t like walking up to the cash register to pay for something when my stomach is still crying, “You cheated me!”

I would go away from the place of prayer unsatisfied, with my spirit crying, “You cheated me.”  I didn’t know what it was that I was missing.  I knew that I was a child of God.  I knew that I had been healed by the power of God.  I knew I had been raised up from a deathbed.  I knew God called me to preach;  I even saw some get healed.  But I would go away from that place of prayer with something on the inside of me saying, “You cheated me.” because my spirit wanted to pray, too, apart from my understanding….my mind.

1 Corinthians 14:14

King James Version (KJV)

14 For if I pray in an unknown tongue, MY SPIRIT PRAYETH, but my understanding is unfruitful.

One thing I appreciate about being filled with the Holy Ghost is speaking with tongues.  From the day I was Spirit filled to this day, I have worshipped and magnified God, praying and singing in tongues, and I have communicated with God by this means every single day.

I have never again left the place of prayer with my spirit crying, “You cheated me.”  I have never left the place of prayer with the feeling that I didn’t say what I wanted to say because my spirit had been divinely enabled to say what it wanted to say by the Holy Spirit who indwells me.

I would not argue and fuss about it, but I simply feel sorry for folks who can’t see the truth of the Bible.  I want them to enjoy the blessings of God, too. Praise the Lord!  If I have something good, I want others to enjoy it.  

I want to invite you to come on in to this biblical experience of speaking in tongues and begin to communicate with God supernaturally through praying in the Spirit.  God want to do so much more for you.  He wants to communicate with you in a more effective means than just by your native language.  He wants to communicate with you supernaturally through the precious Holy Spirit. 

Some of you may be thinking that I believe this and AM baptized in the Holy Spirit because it is what my denomination has taught me.  But, before you go any further in that thinking let me tell you something.  I know tongue talking Baptists, Catholics, and Methodists!!  They are full of the Holy Ghost and power!!  They were not raised to know about this!  BUT, when they were taught about it, they didn’t reject the truth of the Word either!

I believe many never come into this fullness for one reason…FEAR!  The enemy makes them afraid of it, because he knows it is a language he cannot understand!  If he can’t understand it, and it is a fact it is a communication between you and God, then he can’t THWART it!!  satan is POWERLESS against it!  This is why he fights it so hard!!  Don’t believe the enemy of your soul!  God cannot and will not lie to you!  Trust Him in this area.  You will be so glad you did, and will never regret it!

Blessings, precious reader!  Tomorrow we will cover “Tongues:  A Means of PRAYING Supernaturally.  Don’t miss any of  these very important Christian devotions!!  I will see you soon!    Juliana

 

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

