Easy Taco Soup

IMAG0403

I am sharing with you one of my all time favorites and easiest meals to make my family. Eating natural and organic is NOT easy on the run and with a family of 4 boys, it seems, we are always on the run. Baseball, Band, Church and other things seem to keep cooking fresh and preservative free always a challenge. This recipe’s ingredients are one you can keep on hand in your pantry and pull out last-minute. Also, this is the crock pot version because I absolutely LOVE my crock pot and love preparing my meals in the morning when the kids and hubby are gone so we can eat and go later. Of course, you can prepare this on the stove, just the same. 🙂

1 lb organic ground beef (browned)

1/2 chopped onion

1 small chopped jalapeno

2 garlic cloves (minced)

2 15 oz cans of organic diced tomatoes (undrained)

2 15 oz cans of organic black beans (drained)

2 15 oz cans of hominy

2 tbsp of cumin

2 tbsp of chilli powder

2-3 cups of water

salt and pepper to taste

combine all ingredients in your crock pot. Cover and set on low for 4-6 hours.

Dollop with some homemade guacamole and a pinch of fresh cilantro.

Serve!

Easy, healthy and filling. 🙂    

All of my recipes were either taught or inspired by my sister, Anna. She tells her story and shares her wonderful talent in her cookbook “This Is How We Eat.” You can grab the hard copy or pdf file by CLICKING HERE!

Kim

 

Also, visit me at:

Our Grease Monkeys

13 thoughts on “Easy Taco Soup

  1. Reblogged this on One God News and commented:
    I had something like this for dinner, it was perfect. Mine had organic basil tomato soup, with organic chicken broth from yesterday’s dinner of chicken. Meals cost too much to not use left overs for great meals. Thank you so much.

      1. I love organic soups, and I had my tortilla chips in my on the side today. I’m looking for organic bakers yeast and I know there is Rapunzel Rize yeast, but it’s expensive when I can’t buy it in bulk. If you know how to get organic yeast affordable to buy, please let me know. Thank you very much.

      2. Thank you very much. Your Taco Soup looks divine. I usually make things with what I have around the kitchen. Bakers yeast is a big problem because we’re all allergic to GMO’s in the yeast. I did find a baking powder and I was really excited about it. It’s called
        Rumford’s, it is not organic but it does not have aluminum or GMO, it’s an automatic hit with me. I’ve added you as a contact in my e-mail if it’s okay, I’ll take you off if you don’t want me to e-mail you.

      3. Good morning! I do not know anything about where to find organic yeast. We have been mostly grain-free for some time now and yeast is not something I have had a great need for. I hope you can find what you need and a great deal on it. Sorry I couldn’t help in that. Also, I double checked the cookbook link and it is working now. Sorry for the confusion… not sure what was going on with that. Thank you so much for reblogging and thank you for your comments! Have a wonderful day!!!!!

      4. Thank you Juliana, I went off grain until I found it was important for health…almost too late. GMO is toxic to the nth degree. It literally stops the stomach from working and leaks through into all the body.
        Rapunzel Rize Organic yeast is great, just spendy, and it will work if a big spoonful of organic flour is added to the warm water and sugar when set to rise. This is on the package sort of hidden unless you’re looking for it. I’ll check the link later too, thank you so much. I know you’re a busy mom, I am too, I home school two of my children.

      5. I think she is blocking on the cookbook tomorrow. I don’t know for sure. I am having to answer you from my iPhone because the computer is down. Will let you know more as I know it. Blessings.

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

