gods peace for you

I’m so frustrated!  That just aggravates me!”

How often have you said  or thought those words? I know I’ve felt this way many times. But I’ve learned  that we can come to a point in our lives where we don’t experience being  aggravated and frustrated every day. In fact, aggravated and frustrated is not  the condition God wants us to live in. Let me show you what I mean.

  In John 14:27 (AMP),  Jesus says, “Peace I leave with you: My [own] peace I now give…to you. Not as  the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither  let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and  do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and  unsettled.]”

Now, there’s a worldly  peace we have when everything is going our way. But the peace Jesus gives is a  totally different quality of peace than what the world gives. It’s a peace that  passes our understanding; it makes us peaceful when all natural reasoning says  we should be upset.

You  Can Decide to Be Peaceful

  We can make the  decision to stop allowing ourselves to get upset, aggravated and frustrated.  Although we may think, “I can’t help it,” according to Jesus, we can help it.  He offers us peace that can keep us from getting this way.

  It’s important for us  to realize that we have a responsibility to not let our hearts be troubled or afraid. We will never break loose  from anything we’re struggling with until we take personal responsibility for  where we are now.

  Most people just want  to blame someone or something else for their problems – a bad childhood, their  lack of education, their nationality, their personality – and make excuses for  the way they are. But we can’t let the things from our past, or present, become  an excuse to stay there. Believe me…I know.

  I grew up in a home  full of turmoil. It was a very unstable, unpleasant atmosphere, filled with  alcohol, anger and all kinds of abuse. However, I learned that I had to take  responsibility for my actions if my life would ever be different than what I  experienced throughout my childhood.

  I remember when I  realized that living with frustration, aggravation and worry really just did me  no good at all. All I ever got from being this way was a headache, a back ache,  a grouchy attitude, and regret for saying things I never should have said.

  As I began to take  responsibility and say, “God will help me to do something about this if I  really want Him to,” things began to change. It wasn’t easy and it didn’t  happen overnight, but as I trusted God more and more to help me, and then made  right choices to act like Christ instead of the way I felt like acting when I  was upset or didn’t get my way, I changed. I learned to live with the peace  Jesus gives.

God’s  Peace Is for YOU!

  And you can too. We can  have anything God says we can have. He is no respecter of persons. The promises  of God are for “whosoever will” (see Acts 10:34-35). We’re all “whosoevers,”  but not all of us are willing to do what we need to do to inherit the promises  of God. We may be willing to hear the truth, but are we willing to do what it says?

  I want to challenge you  to decide right now to be determined and persistent in seeking God and being  obedient to what He’s telling you to do. Our enemy, the devil, is persistent  and will do whatever he can to wear us out and keep us from God’s will. But we  need to have the same tenacity in Christ to never give up – by God’s grace –  and make him sorry he ever bothered us.

  Remember, as a  born-again Christian, you are full of the Spirit of the living God, who makes  us more than conquerors. We should plan ahead to stay peaceful during trials.  Everything is not going to go our way all the time, and when it doesn’t, we can  be prepared to stay in peace in the midst of it all.

  Let your confession be:  “With God’s help, I don’t have to be aggravated or frustrated. I can stay calm  and hold my peace.” The ability to display stability and remain calm in  troubled times can be one of our greatest testimonies to a troubled world.

joycemeyer.org

2 thoughts on “God’s Peace For You

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

