casting

7 Casting the [c]whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, [d]once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about you [e]watchfully.  1 Peter 5:7 Amplified Bible

This type of cast is like in fishing.  It literally means to FLING OUT FROM YOURSELF, but not to reel it back in again!  Once you cast your line as a fisherman, you are not supposed to reel back in unless you have a fish on the hook.   God will never put your anxieties “back on the hook” for you to reel back in!

I am not writing this post to give you advice.  I don’t want anybody to run out and quit their jobs, divorce their spouse, sell their house and move into a tent, etc. over what I am about to say.  Anything we do that is considered sin in God‘s eyes is NEVER the thing to do.  To stop paying a note for something because you don’t want the burden of it anymore is stealing, to divorce your spouse when they have not committed any sin the Bible says releases you is sin on your part and God nor I will ever advise sin!  To quit your job,  when there are few and far between and you have children’s mouths to feed is just plain foolishness!  I am talking about using wisdom with things that are unnecessary.

Let us say you spend too much money on things that aren’t necessary.  You may love expensive clothes, boy/girl toys such as boats, motorcycles, jet skis, lavish cruises, etc..  When those bills come in from your credit card companies,  if it causes you to have to lie down, makes you physically ill, causes you to have to go on medication you didn’t have to take before, it is time to LET IT GO!  If  whatever it is, is stealing your peace, causing fighting between you and your spouse, bringing you to emotional, financial, or mental ruin, it is time to get rid of it!

God cannot sufficiently use you, if your mind is preoccupied with things that bring worry, upset, and grief and if you are making bad choices that bring these things upon you, you cannot walk in the blessing God has promised!  I will again use myself as an example.  This week has been a trying week!  Everything has been just one disaster after another.  I woke up in the middle of the night with a full-blown IBS attack from all the stress I have had to carry;  Let me reword that…I chose to carry.  Oh, I said many times “God, I cast this care on you”,  just to pick it up and try to ‘fix’ it faster!  When IBS hits you, it is pain that is so severe I cannot think of anything in life I have endured pain wise that has compared….and I have had two children and an abcessed tooth before!  On a scale of 1-10 it is a 10, 000!  I do not exaggerate!

When I woke up in pain that had me doubled over, I thought, “I know what this is!  It is such and such!”  God spoke to me, “When you put your physical well-being in jeopardy it is time to let it go!”  BAM!!!    Have you ever noticed the most life changing revelations come through the simplest realizations?  There was one thing I knew had to go.  It came to me immediately!  This very day, I said goodbye to it!  Immediately peace flooded me, emotionally and mentally.

Whatever is stealing your peace, your joy, bringing you worry, sleepless nights due to fear and anxiety, it is time to let it go!  Many times things become habits to us and we forget all we have to do is just tweak it by saying, “I am doing the same thing over and over, expecting to get a different result and that is just insanity!  I am making a conscious decision to stop it!”

It may be you have a grown child that won’t leave home because they have pulled guilt trips, “I have no place else to go”, etc. and then you have to put up with behaviors that are harmful to you!  They may come home inebriated, call you from the police station to bail them out once again, or even may abuse you in some way, refuse to find a job because they know you are a “free ride”!  It is time to tough love and say “Bye, if you are hungry, I will feed you, but I won’t house you or pay your bills!”   I promise you, suddenly they will be willing to work and will find a job, guaranteed!  Without realizing it, you have enabled someone to take advantage of you and they have used your unconditional love to do it!

Anything that pulls you to a bottle, whether pills or alcohol, it is time to LET IT GO!  Yes, even Christians can be addicts and alcoholics!  You can be anything if you let the devil call the shots!  Stop it in its tracks!  Nothing will change until you do.

If you have made bad choices, join the rest of the world’s population, but have enough wisdom to say, “Father, I repent!  I turn this around (which is what repent means) and I thank you for showing me how to get it right!”  At that point, God will give you courage and wisdom to do what has to be done!

Nothing in life is worth your peace, precious reader!  If you are a Christian, it doesn’t matter how small it seems, follow your what is in your spirit and let peace that is priceless abound in you!  In His love~Juliana

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

