sit down and hush

I have always been a “truth warrior”.  I have never been comfortable to just sit back and let things happen that I have a passion about, and I have a passion about right and wrong!  I have always related to Jeremiah, who felt like he had a fire shut up in his bones to tell the truth and see people live lives of good and not a life cluttered with lies from the enemy.  

Mother Teresa would not be coming into sainthood if she had just sat down and blended in!  Nobody that has ever done anything worth anything for God is a “blender”.  Paul stood out because he had to tell the truth!  He was driven to say it and write it!  Peter was crucified upside down for teaching the truth, it was so important to him!    There are two sides to everything.  There are two sides to every story, two sides to every coin, and two sides to every personality strength and weakness and if I would just sit down and hush, don’t stir up controversy, then I wouldn’t “to my own self be true”,  but more than that I would not be true to God and His Word.

  Oh, I know all the sayings on the cutesy backgrounds, “You take care of you, and I’ll take care of me!”  I usually hear that when someone is wrong, yet they don’t know how to prove to others their wrong is  “right”.   The Bible says you are to go to a brother when they are overtaken in a fault and lovingly point it out PRIVATELY, and then if they don’t correct it you are to take the elders, and then if that person refuses correction, you put them out of the church until a repentant heart comes.  We don’t just take care of us and let others take care of themselves, but there is a Biblical protocol and way to go about it!  It should never be done in anger or unforgiveness…it would not be love then would it? 

“But I don’t want to make people mad at me.  After all the Bible also says to be gentle!”  Yes, it does, but it does NOT say remain silent!  Paul said if his aim was to be “popular” with people, he certainly would not be a minister of the gospel!  Tell the truth, but tell it in love!  I knew a pastor at one time who had a lady who missed a great deal of church.  She always had some excuse to rarely come.   She had a million excuses she tried to make sound like  “reasons”.   I sympathized with this pastor.  He had corrected the lady, and he did it gently and privately as he was commanded by God to do as her pastor!  She was infuriated!  She continued to miss more than ever.  Being the loving shepherd he was, the outcome bothered him greatly and finally he told one of his confidantes, “I had to tell her!  It is my job!  If I didn’t, I then would have to answer to God  just as she will.” 

My personality is the type that on one side of it I am called by some “the life of the party”, by others I am just called loud!  I am boisterous, blunt (I am working on this diligently), and can say things I mean one way but they come out another!  At the same time, I cannot sit back and say, “Don’t call on me God to say that, they aren’t going to like it!” in fear of being misunderstood!  I have been shunned, literally because of this.  People have tried to put guilt trips on me for what GOD told me to say, as well as write,  and I think that is just part of the persecution we face as Christians.  People don’t like to face negative truths and I am no different.  It is hard on everyone’s flesh!  It is hard to look in the mirror and say, “I need to lose more than a few pounds!”  It is hard on the flesh to say, “I talk too much and I say things I shouldn’t say!  I don’t always think before I speak!”  I would be ridiculous if I pointed my finger at YOU and said, “I am fat, loud, and say hateful things because of you!”  That is called, in the state of Texas,  ABUSE! 

My husband is completely opposite of me.  He has a decorum that I do not!  I am a “fighter” for what is right and he is as well but in a different way.  He is well liked and greatly respected!  He can say things in ways I would never think to say them.    That is one of the reasons I married him.  One of the reasons he married me is because of my passion and zeal for what I believe in!  I do take the “bull by the horns” and I won’t let go until it is wrestled to the ground and made totally immovable! I would love to be quiet and laid back as he is, but that is not how God made me to be.   I heard Joyce Meyer say once that her pastor’s wife was so sweet, quiet and gentle.  She studied her and tried to act just like her.  Her stomach began to bother her, she was a confused mess, and God finally said to her, “Joyce, I did not make you to be anybody else other than you!”  She felt like a weight had been lifted off her shoulders!  She then went back to being “Joyce”.

Jesus said Himself, “Do not think that I came to bring peace on Earth; I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I came to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law; and a man’s enemies will be the members of his household. He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me; and he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who does not take his cross and follow Me is not worthy of Me. He who has found his life will lose it, and he who has lost his life for My sake will find it.” (Matthew 10:34–39 NASB)

In other words, I am not sent to pacify anyone’s flesh, but to bring truth and deliverance  from anything that is not edifying to a brother, sister, the church, and to save the lost!  You ARE NOT going to be popular with everyone, in other words, when you have to stand in the face of wrong and say what God commands you say!  You will not be popular when you bring light to the dark.  Think about it.  When you have been asleep in a completely dark room and someone flips the light on, the light hurts your eyes!  The truth of the light may hurt, but in the end it brings great joy IF it is given and RECEIVED correctly. 

You cannot help how I take it or anyone else.  They alone are responsible for that!  We are responsible to put our “relationships” on the line, rather than disobey God!  If we put our popularity, comfort zones, relationships,  or anything else ahead of God we have not died to self in order for Christ to live big on the inside of us!  We are still thinking of ourselves rather than Jesus and, in so doing, we have not decreased so that He may increase! 

Are you a “truth warrior”, but have tampered it down out of fear of what people will think and how they will react?  God has called all of us to “proclaim” the Gospel, not incite a riot and hurt feelings, but to say what is wrong and change the direction of it if possible!  Don’t be discouraged and disappointed in yourself if you have lost your zeal.  Repent, ask God to renew it, and remember tomorrow is a clean slate!  Ask God to fill your mind with His words and to give you the mind of Christ!  What people do with it is not your fault, nor is it your success!  We are messengers and messengers always bring the message of their commander, not their own opinions and philosophies!  Bind the mind of Christ to your mind!   When you do, you will be Christ driven and not SELF driven!

Blessings to you, precious reader!!  See you next time!  Juliana

2 thoughts on “Why Can’t I Just Sit Down and Hush?

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

