purpose to be a generous giver

 

“Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the Lord of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it. And I will rebuke the devourer for your sakes, and he shall not destroy the fruits of your ground; neither shall your vine cast her fruit before the time in the field, saith the Lord of hosts” (Malachi 3:10-11).

 

6 Remember this:[d] The person who sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and the person who sows generously will also reap generously. 7 Each person should do as he has decided in his heart—not reluctantly or out of necessity, for God loves a cheerful giver. 8 And God is able to make every grace overflow to you, so that in every way, always having everything you need, you may excel in every good work. 9 As it is written:

He scattered; He gave to the poor; His righteousness endures forever.[e]

10 Now the One who provides seed for the sower and bread for food will provide and multiply your seed and increase the harvest of your righteousness. 11 You will be enriched in every way for all generosity, which produces thanksgiving to God through us. 12 For the ministry of this service is not only supplying the needs of the saints, but is also overflowing in many acts of thanksgiving to God. 13 They will glorify God for your obedience to the confession of[f] the gospel of Christ, and for your generosity in sharing with them and with others through the proof provided by this service. 14 And they will have deep affection for[g] you in their prayers on your behalf because of the surpassing grace of God in you. 15 Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift.  2 Corinthians 9:6-15

 

Recently, the Lord has really been speaking to my heart about how important is it for the church to know how important giving is!  Tithing and giving is directly tied to how prosperous you are going to be.  My husband and I are not millionaires by any means!  We are not even close, BUT God has blessed us far above all we could ever think, imagine or ask just as His word says because we have ALWAYS been tithers!  When we began to see a supernatural abundance come in was when we became givers, too!  You may ask what the difference is.  Well, I am glad you asked! 

I was brought up that tithing was not an option.  My parents had been very poor!  They lived with my grandmother until after I was born because they could not afford to live on their own.  Rent was out of the question!   When they married, both worked and made approximately 300.00 a month between the two of them.   Then I came along, and if you have children, you know there are needs and those needs many times cost more than you thought.  I was a very ill baby and doctor bills and treatments drained them dry!   My dad would work 3-4 jobs at a time just to make ends meet!  My dad was on call at a local hospital 24/7.  On his days “off” he was a pharmaceutical salesman that went all over 3 counties.  At night, he would sit with ill, bedridden patients and then go to work the next day and it would start all over.  He did  everything that came available to support my mother and me.  I honestly do not see how he did it!

My parents were not saved when they married.  About a year and a half after marrying they began to go to church and at the first service they attended they were saved and soon baptized in the Holy Spirit.  They began to learn about tithing and giving.  Now for those of you who say, “Yeah, that is going to be the first thing a preacher talks about is how to get your money!”  I say to you, you should march yourself straight to that pastor, shake his hand and thank him for teaching it!  Why??  Because for one thing it shows he is doing what God told him to do by teaching you to not rob God!  Next, he has given you literal keys to the blessing and the ability to prosper without working yourself into an early grave!!  In Psalm it says it is GOD who gives  power to get wealth, not what you can do for yourself!!  If you will give your ten percent, you will have more money on the remaining ninety percent than you had on the one-hundred percent you had before!

When you determine to be a giver, it is amazing what God does.  My parents decided to not tithe the ten percent, but to tithe twenty percent.  When they did, suddenly their money stretched.  They had no explanation.  Nothing changed, but the money went farther.  It wasn’t long until they were in a house.  Then they upped their giving again.  Suddenly, a job opportunity that would take my father into wealth came open.  The rest is history!  They lived generously  and God was MORE than generous with them.  They lived very well!

When my husband and I caught onto the giving to God, we started partnering with Ken Copeland, supporting missionaries, and we were barely making it ourselves.  Within eight months we were out of credit card debt and paid our mortgage off a little over a year later!  Before,  every month we were coming up in the red EVERY SINGLE TIME!  There were literal times we didn’t know where our next meal was coming from!  Today, God has blessed us beyond what we ever knew could exist for us!  Oh and by the way, during that time our income changed in no way!  There were no raises or bonuses.  We did it with what we had before when we barely had enough!  God is good for His word!

This giving does not just apply to the church!  Be generous with people and I don’t mean just your children!  Look around you.  Ask God to show you someone who needs help!  He will do it!!  I have witnessed this personally.  When you go to a restaurant in your top dollar suit, driving that car you think makes you look so rich, don’t lay down a one dollar tip to the waiter/waitress;  especially if it is on a Sunday!  Here we go with the “poster child for naughty Christians” again!  You tip that person what YOU would want to be tipped if the shoe were on the other foot.  You think a moment.  That person is on their feet all day,  running their legs off to several tables trying to keep everyone happy and maybe knowing their child has a major project due at school they have no money to buy the resources  so that child can complete the assignment.  Maybe they have a college student with tuition due, or an elderly parent that needs medical help that cannot be provided!  We don’t know.  Many of our lives are a bed of thornless roses compared to other people’s lives!

My husband and I started there in our giving locally.  Our tips went from two dollars to far more!  The Bible says we can tell  other people what we give God, but not to other people so I cannot say the amounts on the tips.  I will tell you this!  I used to have such a severe “poverty mentality” that when my husband would put the two dollars down, when he wasn’t looking I would pick it up and put it in my purse.  Yes, it was a HORRIBLE thing to do, but we were struggling so much I was afraid we would need that money and not have it.  Notice I said I was afraid.  Fear never brings anything that is good!  It only draws the bad to you!  I wasn’t doing it out of GREED, but FEAR of lack!   I got so convicted over doing that!  God asked me when I was about to do it one evening, “Juliana, do you think I won’t take any better care of you than this?”  I drew my hand back and never did it again.  Then I became a generous tipper and giver!  God was my source!  He was SURE to take care of me!  The more I gave and tipped, the more was given in return.  I didn’t do it to get back!  I did it out of love for God first and people secondly!  God saw that and rewarded the motives of my heart and He will reward you, too!

Become an on purpose, generous giver!  God sees it when no one else does!  It may not be money but time, kindness, a good deed.  Whatever it is, do it with a heart of joy and look purposefully for opportunities to give however God speaks to you!  There is such JOY in giving!!  Remember, it truly is better to give than to receive!  I promise you, your joy will be full and overflowing when you help someone and  whether they appreciate it or not God appreciates it!  He is proud of your obedience and love toward Him!! 

May you be abundantly blessed, dear reader!  May you be an abundant “blesser”!  See you next time!  Juliana

2 thoughts on “Purpose to Be a Joyful and Generous Giver, Which is Pleasing to God!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

