how to be a mighty soul winner

There are three simple things all Christians can do to be major soul winners for Christ.   Talk is cheap today.  People who claimed to be Christians and then behaved the opposite have been grabbed up by the secular media and spotlighted as the “Christian Poster Child” and nothing could be further from the truth.  Sadly, there are many Christians that do like to “cut corners” in their walk with the Lord and the world is watching and catching it.  There are three simple things we can do to be mighty soul winners and you never have to leave your town, you don’t have to buy a “soul winning kit”, or another church’s program.

1.  KEEP YOUR WORD!  In Matthew 5:37 it says,37 But let your word ‘yes’ be ‘yes,’ and your ‘no’ be ‘no.’”  In other words, if you tell someone you are going to do something, then do it!  Business people, especially you.  I had a man do some work on my house that claimed he was a Christian.  I say claimed because I don’t know if he was or not,  but the fruit he bore pointed in the opposite direction.  Everything he told my husband and me he was going to do for a certain price ended up being  the opposite of what he said.  He was supposed to work by contract not an hourly wage.  Suddenly, he began to find things “wrong” that he had not anticipated.  Then he began to charge by the hour!  Sad to say, we had to fire him and my father finished the job!  How many times do we have people say one thing and then change their minds because “they don’t feel like it” or they find a way to take advantage of someone.  This is a terrible witness.  I know a Christian college that when people in the town find out they are attending there, tell them don’t bother to apply for a job with them because they are  people who will not give the job performance they say they will.

Now, on the brighter side.  I know many Christians that will tell you something and you can take it to the bank!  Their yes is their yes!  If they say they are going to do a job for a certain amount, they do it.  My parents just had some remodeling done on their house.  The man who did the painting happens to go to my church.  At the time he did the first job for them, they didn’t know him and got his name from someone else.  I didn’t know he was a painter and that Mother and Daddy had hired him.  He did not charge my parents his normal fee because they are elderly and on a fixed income.  He also showed up when he said AND did what he said!  The job was beautiful and finished right on schedule!  This should be the reputation of  everyone who is a Christian!!  If you are going to claim to be one, please act like one!

2.  Treat others as you want to be treated…with kindness and politeness.  Oh, you can’t get any simpler!   In Matthew 7:12 it says, “”Do to others whatever you would like them to do to you. This is the essence of all that is taught in the law and the prophets.”  What was the law?  To keep the commandments.  Jesus said, if you love your neighbor as yourself you will keep the whole law.  You don’t want anyone to break any of the commandments toward you!  If you love others as much as you love yourself you will not break the commandments toward them.  You will be kind and do good to others.  You will be naturally polite and understanding.  Your actions will be those of consideration, because that is what you want given to you!  A little politeness goes a long, long way!  It speaks volumes!!

3.  Practice what you preach!  Don’t just say it, do it.  The Bible tells us to be DOERS OF THE WORD NOT HEARERS ONLY!  You can find this in James 1:22.  It says specifically “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.”  How easy is that?  Don’t tell people they should do one thing and then you go and do another.  I am going to use myself as an example here.  I can have a temper if I allow myself.  I have to go with what Rev. Hagin, Sr. said in his DVD “Back to Basics”.   There is a monster in all of us, that fleshly man and we have to keep him under!  Since my  book has come out and even before then, when I gave myself to writing a Christian blog, people in my church and in my town began to read it.  I could not just go and let my flesh do anything it wanted to!  I couldn’t fly off the handle, rant and rave, no matter how justified I may have thought it was.  Why?  Because it ruins my witness!  The Bible strictly says not many should become teachers and preachers because their CONDUCT will be judged by God at a higher standard!  Why should anyone do what I am teaching if I, myself fail to do it?  This is where we get those “poster children”!  We must be maturing Christians not given to vices!  Our witness depends on it, but more than anything the image we are projecting of God, our Father is involved!! 

Be a hearer, doer, and keeper of God’s Word.  People will know you are a Christian!  There will be no doubt and you will have a mighty impact on other people’s lives for the sake of the Gospel!!  Blessings!  Juliana

2 thoughts on “Three Simple Steps to Being A Major Soul Winner

  1. Whew. I just had to re-read this again, and I had to rate it ‘Excellent’. This is one of the best ‘back to basics’ ‘walkin’ the talk’ messages I’ve ever read. This is getting it right…God’s way. Thank you.

    1. Praise God and thank you, Susan! This hit me last night after something happened to me by a person who does a great deal of big talking (religiously). I thought, “Father, please never let me get to that point!” Then I began to hear this message. How simple to be a soul winner! Everything with God is simple, WE make it hard! I reread it, too! Lol! I wanted to be sure I remembered every word of it because, I can’t speak for others, but I know me! Thank you, Susan for all your uplifting comments you leave!! You are such a blessing, and I want to say how much I appreciate it!! Blessings to you, dear heart!! Juliana

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

