do not be unequally yoked

2 Corinthians 6:14

Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

Separation to God

14 Do not be mismatched with unbelievers. For what partnership is there between righteousness and lawlessness? Or what fellowship does light have with darkness?

I feel such an urgency in my spirit, I cannot go to bed without writing this post.  The Lord says there is someone and you  are seriously considering a marriage you know God does not approve of. This person doesn’t serve God.   You are thinking that one day this person will turn to God and you will serve Him together.  You are not thinking about the years of hell on earth in between!

I have counselled many women who have married unsaved men, and I have heard saved men give testimonies as to the horror their lives were when married to unsaved women.  The adultery, the drunkenness, the abuse they bore and that their children witnessed!  It is NOT ever worth disobeying God and YOU are not an exception to the rule!

This man/woman will not understand when you are going through a trial how to agree in prayer with you!  They will not even attempt it!  They will have no idea how to comfort you with the Word because the Word of God is not important to an unsaved person!  You will not be on the same page when the worst of times hit!  What happens when your baby gets sick and it needs a healing?  You will face it alone in your home!  What happens when finances get tight because he/she won’t let you tithe?  What happens when you want to attend church and take the children and it is forbidden and your children begin to take on the characteristics of the world?  Where will your support system in the home be?  You won’t have one!  The very depth of love you had will begin to dissipate and vanish because you are now pitted against one another instead of FOR each other!  Hear me!!  GOD IS TALKING TO SOMEONE!!

Amos 3:3

King James Version (KJV)

3 Can two walk together, except they be agreed?

You cannot!  The greatest and most powerful prayer on earth is the prayer between a husband and wife!  Why?  Because it is a covenant!  It mirrors the covenant we have with Jesus when we are born again!  He even talks about how when we sin we are as adulterers against Him, our Lord and Saviour!!  If you are not on the same page spiritually, you aren’t walking in agreement!  You have to agree on the Word and have the same values and beliefs!  For some couples this is the ONLY thing that held them together when times got tough and let me tell you, I don’t care how in love you think you are, there will be TOUGH times!!

If it had not been for my husband praying for me, speaking the Word to me, loving me unconditionally because God put that in his heart as a Christian man, I don’t know what would have happened to me!  I am being honest with you!  When push came to shove, he was my rock, comfort, confidante, the one who spoke peace and wisdom to me by the power of God!  Unsaved men/women don’t do that!

Not only are you making a horrible mistake, you are sinning against God because you KNOW  this is wrong!!  He has warned you through people, your pastor, your Godly friends, and now through this post!  You will be in disobedience and you know it and you also know disobedience can NEVER be blessed!!  I don’t care if your wedding is TOMORROW!  STOP!  You may think you will be embarrassed but I tell you people will admire that obedience and respect your stand for God!!  Do not allow this open door to misery come upon you!  God loves you and He is wanting you to have the best!  I pray you hear me today!   It is better to be alone than to live out a nightmare!!  You are in my prayers!   Juliana

5 thoughts on “URGENT: Do Not Be Unequally Yoked…What It Means

  1. I know everything you say here is true of course. I wonder though why you haven’t touched on the issue of those who were not Christians when they married yet one becomes a Christian whilst the other resists the call? They remain married yet they are unequally yoked. I’m sure there is reference in Scripture but it escapes me.

    Shirley Anne x

    1. This waa a prophetic word given to me by the Holy Ghost. It was a warning to someone, not an article I just decided to write. I will address your question and it is a good question! I was NOT writing to couples who are MARRIED, I was writing to couples WHO WERE NOT MARRIED BUT CONSIDERING GETTING MARRIED TO SOMEONE WHO IS NOT SAVED. The scripture you are wondering about is 1 Corinthians 7:14 where it says if the saved spouse is married to an unsaved spouse and the unsaved wants to continue to be married, to not divorce so that the unsaved spouse may experience salvation and sanctification through the saved one. Thank you for reading and let me know if you have anymore questions. Blessings! Juliana

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

