what shall we say 2 

Romans 8:31-39  HCSB

The Believer’s Triumph

31 What then are we to say about these things?
If God is for us, who is against us?
32 He did not even spare His own Son
but offered Him up for us all;
how will He not also with Him grant us everything?
33 Who can bring an accusation against God’s elect?
God is the One who justifies.
34 Who is the one who condemns?
Christ Jesus is the One who died,
but even more, has been raised;
He also is at the right hand of God
and intercedes for us.
35 Who can separate us from the love of Christ?
Can affliction or anguish or persecution
or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?
36 As it is written:
Because of You
we are being put to death all day long;
we are counted as sheep to be slaughtered.[o]
37 No, in all these things we are more than victorious
through Him who loved us.
38 For I am persuaded that not even death or life,
angels or rulers,
things present or things to come, hostile powers,
39 height or depth, or any other created thing
will have the power to separate us
from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord!

As of last night or the wee hours of the morning I should say, the Lord has really dealt with me about things we say.  It may be something you say in reaction to an unexpected event.  It may be something you have said all of your life.  It may be something you have just tossed out of your mouth in recent weeks without thinking.  Whatever it is your words produce!

Matthew 12:36-37

Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

36 I tell you that on the day of judgment people will have to account for every careless word they speak.[a] 37 For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.”

King James Version

36 But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment.

37 For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned.

Again, we see words carry enormous power!  Let me give you an example of this.  I remember when Lacy Peterson was murdered.  It was horrible!!  My heart went out to this family!  This crime could not be described as anything but heinous!!  Amazingly, Scott Peterson had covered his tracks very well and meticulously!  It did seem he had committed the “perfect crime”.  What was the most damning evidence against him?  The things he SAID!  The phone calls made to the then girlfriend, the things he said in an interview with Diane Sawyer.  All of it was used against him in court.  In this case, it was a good thing he had loose lips!  It helped put behind bars what his mother-in-law described as “a monster”!   Scott Peterson’s mouth became the very tool that uncovered motive, cause, and opportunity.  His own words sunk his case.  He “condemned” himself with them.  Many people who have gone to court are condemned when guilty, not just by evidence, but by witnesses that HEARD them say something about the crime they committed!  Miranda rights say, “…anything you SAY CAN AND WILL be used against you!”  Again, we see the importance words play!  Let people talk enough and you will learn all kinds of things!!

When you get around people, more than likely you can tell if you are going to be close friends or acquaintances.  How?  By the conversation you have with one another.  Someone who is positive, caring, a good listener is more likely to have lasting friendships than someone who is negative, bossy, dominant, and “it’s my way or the highway”.  You know by the words they say if you would like to get to know someone better or not.

When something happens in life that takes you by surprise, more than ever, you need to be aware of how you respond with your words!  This week a friend of mine had an elderly uncle kicked by a horse.  She put on the prayer chain what had happened.  She told what happened, what the doctors were saying about the tests results, but her last sentence is what caught me!  She said, “But, I know my God can and will heal”!  What did she do?  She usurped circumstances, statistics, and what in the natural was bound to happen with what GOD SAID!  Later in the evening when the son of this man came home from being at the hospital with his father, who was in ICU, his daughter ran out to greet him.  She was so happy to see him since she had not seen him in basically two days, without thinking, she ran alongside the car to see her father.  As she ran, she lost her footing and fell and her father ran over her.  Thank God she will live, but she has several broken bones.  Praise God they will mend and she will be alright!  What if that family said, “Oh, God what next??  It is one thing after another!  I can’t fight anymore!  Daddy is probably going to die, my daughter can and very possibly will be crippled from this  for the rest of her life!  Why, God??  I can’t take anymore!!”  They would have talked themselves out of faith and into a nervous breakdown!  Reports on the precious little girl, could have been much different!

Look back at our scripture.  What did the Holman title this particular passage?  THE BELIEVER’S TRIUMPH!  I love that.  In other words, the believer’s VICTORY or you could also say WIN!!  Oh, I love that!  How does the believer win?  It says when these troubles come, this is how you respond to win!!   What then are we to say about these things?  If God is for us, who is against us?

We don’t say, “All is lost!  There is no way out of this one!  I just can’t take anymore!  I just want to crawl in bed with two dozen chocolate chip cookies, a Dr. Pepper and watch “Shane” all day!  Hold all calls, I don’t even think I can take a human voice right now!”  You might as well put a target on our chest and say, “Hit me again, devil!”   Noooo!  It says you begin to speak the Word!  Especially “The Believer’s Triumph” verses!

You may say, “Well, Juliana that is easy for you to say,  you aren’t going through horror!”  Oh, precious reader, if you only knew!  But, you don’t do you?  Why?  Because I have not told you!  I have kept my words encouraging and triumphant, not only for you, but I read these posts myself and I need them as much as anyone! 

I refuse to go down, fight or no fight!  Give up isn’t in me!  I may cry a little, but soon I am speaking the Word and my crying is turned to laughing!  God said He sits in the heavens and laughs at what satan plans over you because God knows it is going to fail from the beginning!  Why?  Because HE  put an end to it when Jesus was raised from the dead, took satan’s power Adam gave him through sin and paraded it all through heaven to see, making him a LAUGHINGSTOCK!!   In other words, not only did all of heaven rejoice,  THEY LAUGHED!! 

What is your reaction today to what is going on around you?  There are horrors happening in this world, even as I write this!  But, YOU, precious Christian reader, are blessed in your going out and your coming in!  You are the head and not the tail!  ALL things work to the good of you!  In ALL your ways God causes you to triumph and have a SURPASSING VICTORY!!  That means, in Texas terms, He licked the devil and how and handed you the win!  BUT, you can undo every bit of it in your life by what you say!  Let us all watch our words and IF we say something wrong or have said wrong things pray this prayer with me…it works….I have had to say it myself!

Dear Father, I have spoken useless, idle words.  Some of those words have even been words that may have hurt someone.  I ask you to forgive me!   Cover those words with the blood of Jesus.  I render them fruitless and harmless from having any ill or negative effects on me or anyone else!  Cover my mind and my thinking in the blood of Jesus, because that is where the thoughts originate that cause the words to be spoken.  Bind the mind of Christ to my mind!  Father, no matter what I face cause me to remember I always have complete victory and I win because You said so and Jesus paid the price for it to be that way!  Thank you, you uproot everything that I may have planted in carelessness and You are even now uprooting!  It cannot grow because there is no longer life in it to grow!  I ask you to sanctify my mind and my mouth and You draw me ever closer to You by Your Word and by Your precious Holy Spirit.  In Jesus’ name I pray!  Amen!

Have a wonderful and blessed day, precious reader!  You have no regrets now!  Walk in peace and joy!!  I will see you soon!  Juliana

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

