1 thessalonians 2

1 Thessalonians 2

Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

Paul’s Conduct

2 For you yourselves know, brothers, that our visit with you was not without result. 2 On the contrary, after we had previously suffered, and we were treated outrageously in Philippi, as you know, we were emboldened by our God to speak the gospel of God to you in spite of great opposition. 3 For our exhortation didn’t come from error or impurity or an intent to deceive. 4 Instead, just as we have been approved by God to be entrusted with the gospel, so we speak, not to please men, but rather God, who examines our hearts. 5 For we never used flattering speech, as you know, or had greedy motives—God is our witness— 6 and we didn’t seek glory from people, either from you or from others. 7 Although we could have been a burden as Christ’s apostles, instead we were gentle[a] among you, as a nursing mother nurtures her own children. 8 We cared so much for you that we were pleased to share with you not only the gospel of God but also our own lives, because you had become dear to us. 9 For you remember our labor and hardship, brothers. Working night and day so that we would not burden any of you, we preached God’s gospel to you. 10 You are witnesses, and so is God, of how devoutly, righteously, and blamelessly we conducted ourselves with you believers. 11 As you know, like a father with his own children, 12 we encouraged, comforted, and implored each one of you to walk worthy of God, who calls you into His own kingdom and glory.

Reception and Opposition to the Message

13 This is why we constantly thank God, because when you received the message about God that you heard from us, you welcomed it not as a human message, but as it truly is, the message of God, which also works effectively in you believers. 14 For you, brothers, became imitators of God’s churches in Christ Jesus that are in Judea, since you have also suffered the same things from people of your own country, just as they did from the Jews 15 who killed both the Lord Jesus and the prophets and persecuted us; they displease God and are hostile to everyone, 16 hindering us from speaking to the Gentiles so that they may be saved. As a result, they are always completing the number of their sins, and wrath has overtaken them at last.[b]

Paul’s Desire to See Them

17 But as for us, brothers, after we were forced to leave you for a short time (in person, not in heart), we greatly desired and made every effort to return and see you face to face. 18 So we wanted to come to you—even I, Paul, time and again—but Satan hindered us. 19 For who is our hope or joy or crown of boasting in the presence of our Lord Jesus at His coming? Is it not you? 20 For you are our glory and joy!

18 thoughts on “1 Thessalonians 2…Paul’s Conduct

  1. Well, I wasn’t so blessed more recently, a few weeks ago…I was at my Lebanese people’s house (you know how I provide Home health care) anyways..there was something wrong with the pipe under the sink..and I’m pretty handy with stuff like that. So they had the water to the entire house turned off because of the sink. So I got under the sink and thought I fixed it..I told the man in Lebanese to turn it back on..so he did. I was on the phone with their daughter… lo and behold..it was fixed..or so I thought. I was all smiles, yelling, “It’s fixed! It’s fixed!” As I was looking beneath the sink. Lo and behold..the old man was looking at me…the daughter was listening on the phone…and a huge, heavy, thick burst of water ejected and the knobs blew off..right in my face! LOL I was literally gushed in the face with water…My clothes, my hair..everything was soaked! Just as I said, “It’s…” Then, after I was saturated completely, “Fixed…” The man could not help it. He had lost it. He turned the main pipe off immediately. Just a few weeks before that, when I was giving his wife her shower (they are very old and sick..so I Have to help with things like this)… the sprayer was leaking around the head. I held it up and was looking at it, trying to figure out if it was just loose..and the shower head blew off and sprayed me in the face…after that, the shower hose (it was a detachable shower head) was flying around like a wild snake spraying water everywhere. Of course, the husband walked in and saw that too. A year ago..the same thing happened to me…while helping the wife with her shower… and here I spend all this time in the am. to do my makeup and hair! LOL

      1. Yes…apparently, not enough! ROFL Okay..I am about to fall over. I have to go look at where the ceramic heaters are… they are soo expensive to run though..uggh! L ove ya!

      2. Well, that is what us redneck north easterners call them. They are those little electric heater….. you k now, honeywell, and so forth… I have one that looks like a wood burning stove and has a light built into it that makes it appear it has a fake fire in it…fancy! LOL I found both of them..and I’m going to go plug them in. I’m sure I’ll have to smell burning dust. gag! Goodnight.

  2. This is going to be awful. I have that raynauds problem…where when you get cold…your fingers turn white and they hurt horribly..like burning when it happens…and then as the circulation returns..they turn bright red..then normal. If I touch something very cold..it happens. This is going to be awful. More than that, I have all the wee little ones tonight.

      1. Amen! In the name of Jesus, make the heat come on! LOL Hey, one time, we could get no hot water for two days in the bathtub/shower…it was only 45 or 50 degrees..so the pipes shouldn’t have been frozen. We didn’t want to call the owner of the house b/c we had just moved in and had already called them about a bunch of stuff. So I went in the bathroom and said, “In the name of Jesus, water..come out!” Suddenly something spoke to me to turn the knob to the left, all the way, three times in a row slowly and then back off slowly. Then, on the fourth time, to turn it on very fast and hard all at once. I did as the thought in my mind instructed, and sure enough…there was this noise and water burst out! LOL It was so funny! Everyone was in the living room. We had tried everything to get water to come out of that thing. Everyone heard me yell in the name of Jesus, water..come out! followed by this loud cranking sound and a gush! Their jaws were all on the floor in surprise. ha ha ha ha God has a real sense of humor.

      1. Any library? Hey…they should have it in school libraries..people would be better off. Maybe kids these days would actually learn something important! LOL

      2. Yeah yeah yeah! I hear you! LOL I am off to bed. The furnace went out tonight..and it is brutal here where I am. COLD! The owner of my house said they could not get anyone here until tomorrow afternoon..and I have children! It is going to freeze in here tonight. I thought that was illegal. Anyways, I have a fireplace..but no wood..and the places that sell those fake logs are all closed. This is going to be awful!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

