bloom where you are planted

The Parable of the Bags of Gold

14 “Again, it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his wealth to them. 15 To one he gave five bags of gold, to another two bags, and to another one bag,[a] each according to his ability. Then he went on his journey. 16 The man who had received five bags of gold went at once and put his money to work and gained five bags more. 17 So also, the one with two bags of gold gained two more. 18 But the man who had received one bag went off, dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money.

19 “After a long time the master of those servants returned and settled accounts with them. 20 The man who had received five bags of gold brought the other five. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with five bags of gold. See, I have gained five more.’

21 “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

22 “The man with two bags of gold also came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with two bags of gold; see, I have gained two more.’

23 “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

24 “Then the man who had received one bag of gold came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed. 25 So I was afraid and went out and hid your gold in the ground. See, here is what belongs to you.’

26 “His master replied, ‘You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed? 27 Well then, you should have put my money on deposit with the bankers, so that when I returned I would have received it back with interest.

28 “‘So take the bag of gold from him and give it to the one who has ten bags. 29 For whoever has will be given more, and they will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what they have will be taken from them. 30 And throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’  Matthew 25:14-28

Have you ever heard the phrase “Bloom where you are planted”?   Hubby and I are back out in the wilderness again, and I love it.  There is nothing to interrupt or disrupt my alone time with God.

As we were coming down a country, winding road to get back to our camp the Lord spoke something to me.  The more we use the gifts, talents, and abilities we have been given by God the more we empty out ourselves of “self” and the more the move of God and His Person increases in us.

I have a friend whose son has an incredible talent to sing.  He has been interviewed on radio shows and one of the men who interviewed him a few years ago told my friend, “I have seen your son really grow in his talent!  Even more so than when I had him on my radio show a few years ago.”  What happened?  It is the same young man with the same voice, but through practice of his talent, his talent has been polished and matured into even a greater talent!

It is the same with us spiritually!  As we use what God has given us, the more we release ourselves to Him,  the more He is able to mature the gift within us.  It is like when you are first baptized in the Spirit.  At first, you may only get a syllable or two, but as time goes on and as you yield yourself to the Holy Spirit that language becomes more and more fluent!  I have seen those who will only allow the Holy Spirit to flow through them on occasion in this manner and their prayer language never expanded or became more fluent.  Others I have seen who grabbed this beautiful gift not only went on to a fluency, they flow quite easily not only in this gift, but many others as well.

Just as the parable tells us, the one given five talents increased it by using and it and it multiplied to ten.  The one given two talents, multiplied it to four, but the one given one buried it and there was no increase!  The other two USED what was given to them and God blessed it.  The one drew back in fear and pride.  You see the root of fear is pride!  We are afraid of what others will think if we put ourselves “our there” and possibly fail.  We don’t use our talent because what if we mess up in front of others?  What will they say?  What will they think?

When we think more of how we look than what we have been given to use for God, we are screaming, “I HAVE A PRIDE PROBLEM!!”  This is why I cringe when someone who sings beautifully is asked to sing and they drop their heads and grin and say, “No, no.”  When someone who is a gifted speaker and they refuse to speak due to the fact someone may not like what they say or they may not say things that are “impressive” enough.  Who is their focus?  Themselves!  They aren’t thinking, “God, you gave this to me to be used.  It is not me in the forefront, but YOU and the message I am singing, speaking, or showing in serving is YOUR message, I am simply a vessel from which you flow!”  That is someone who has their minds, not on themselves, but on what glory God gets!  You use your talent and gift out of love;  Love for God, not love of yourself!

This is when the prayer “Less of me, Father and more of You” comes to true fruition!  This is that moment when you know you were born, not for self-satisfaction and gratification, but to honor and bring glory to the One who gave so much for you out of unfathomable love!

Blessings to you, precious reader.  Be watchful!  Your time of investing and giving back to God what He has put in you is coming quickly!  Be ready!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

