peaceful

Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.] (AMP)

Why did Jesus make it such a point to say this?  Because back in that day there was a great deal of political unrest, just as there is today.  The Pharisees governed.  Pharisees were so-called spiritual leaders who were more concerned with the “law” which was Mosaic rules and regulations  and keeping it than with loving the people and attending to their needs.  It would be as if I pointed out rules and regulations when you came to me with a hurt that you needed help with.  Instead of me assuring you of the mercy and grace of God as well as His overwhelming love for you, telling you and teaching you about the faith that God has put on the inside of you to change the very course of your life,  I would basically tell you, you were getting what you deserved because you had not kept the rules perfectly.  Show me ANYONE on this planet that does EVERYTHING perfectly!  We needed Jesus, because He could do for us what no other could including ourselves.

Why did Jesus speak of  being agitated?  We all know Jesus never wasted words  nor did He mince them.  There was ALWAYS a reason for what He said.  Back in those days there were over two thousand rules that had to be kept DAILY in order, according to them, to be in right standing with God.  Naturally, they could keep a few, but not two thousand!  They would begin to feel like failures spiritually and as a person.   They would compare themselves to others who seemingly COULD keep these laws.  What they didn’t see was the failures these people experienced behind closed doors or when no one was looking.  Guilt and condemnation would take them over and they would become disheartened and agitated because of it instead of having peace of mind and untroubled hearts!  In other, words stress was squeezing the life out of them and making their minds open to torment!

Yesterday, when hubby and I had “date night” it seemed we got behind every two hundred year old, has no business driving person on the road.  This is where hubby gets agitated.  He began to verbalize it.  I could feel the atmosphere changing to one of nervousness, upset, and frustration.  “What are we doing here?  Talking to someone who can’t even hear us isn’t going to change the way they drive.  This is our night and this is a good time to practice patience!”   He agreed and I could feel him relax a little.  Everything was going okay until we got home and one of our children told us of a decision that I was not in agreement with.

This particular child, is desperate for a new car.  The only problem is they haven’t paid off their student loans.  They have saved the money, but instead of paying off the loans, they want to put it toward a used car, they really don’t know is a lemon or not. The car my child has is a good car, paid for and they only want it for “cosmetic” reasons.  I thought one way, hubby thought another and here comes agitation and strife pouring in again!  What was happening?  We had opened the door earlier and even though what I said was right about letting it go, there was still a remnant of it hanging around.  As soon as satan saw the door could be opened again, he pounced on it!!

Agitation and frustration equal out to anger EVERY SINGLE TIME!  Unless you mean business in taking authority over it and rebuking it,you allow it to linger to just the smallest degree and don’t take your proper authority over it which is saying, “In the name of Jesus I command you to go agitation and frustration and I speak the peace of God into my mind and emotions!”  then it will definitely hang around just waiting to wreak full havoc in your mind and in your situation, whether it is family, the workplace, etc..

Some people feel better when they are in control because of abuse they have faced in their past.  I have good news for you!  As a Christian God has given you HIS  authority on the earth.  He said for us to ask anything in His name and He would do it.  What was He saying that for?  He was giving us His authority to use on the earth!  Let us look at some scriptures that back this up!

11 Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me; or else believe Me for the sake of the [very] works themselves. [If you cannot trust Me, at least let these works that I do in My Father’s name convince you.]

12 I assure you, most solemnly I tell you, if anyone steadfastly believes in Me, he will himself be able to do the things that I do; and he will do even greater things than these, because I go to the Father.

13 And I will do [I Myself will grant] whatever you ask in My Name [as [b]presenting all that I Am], so that the Father may be glorified and extolled in (through) the Son.

14 [Yes] I will grant [I Myself will do for you] whatever you shall ask in My Name [as [c]presenting all that I Am].  John 14:11-14

“I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven, and whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.”  Matthew 16:19

“I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome
all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you.”  Luke 10:19

“7 So be subject to God. Resist the devil [stand firm against him], and he will flee from you.”  James 4:7

We have been given authority to rule and reign on the earth through Christ Jesus!  We are in control to a great degree on the earth and we have Jesus and the Word backing us!    We can stop the very environment around us from changing just by changing the attitude the enemy is trying to get us to carry!

Make the decision, precious reader to cultivate peace in your emotions!  Decide to take the authority of the situation and where YOU  are concerned you are going to take “the high road” which is the better attitude!  Remember, when you go with God and His Word,  the Holy Spirit Himself will back you and bring it to pass!

Blessings, dear reader!!  Remember, Jesus loves you and Jesus is LORD!!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

