simply me

Psalm 16:11

New King James Version (NKJV)

11 You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

Years ago a movie by the name of “Remember the Titans” came out with Denzel Washington.  It is one of my favorite movies of all time.  If you haven’t seen it you should grab a chance to.  It is based on a true story about desegregation.  I love movies about unity and unlikely friendships, where the underdog reigns as the winning champion.  At one point Denzel Washington goes at night to the football field and turns on the lights.  He looks across the empty field, up at the empty bleachers and says suddenly, “This is my sanctuary!”  A sanctuary is defined as “a place of refuge and safety”.  It is a place of peace and a place you are undisturbed by the noise of the world’s criticism and unfounded opinions.

I sit in my living room on my sofa next to my table that holds my favorite coffee cup filled with my favorite coffee,  covered in my favorite blanket.  Gracie is curled as close as she can get beside me.  I close my eyes.  He is here.  God is here.  I feel the peace He brings, the love He shrouds me with, the acceptance of every part of me.  The creator of the universe is with me and I can relax and rest in His presence. His love, His very being permeates every atom of my home!   This is my sanctuary!   I think basking in His presence is very inviting and most welcomed right now, as always!  This is where I refill and focus again.  This is where I feel like the world and all of its controversy disappears and all that matters is my quality time with my Abba Father, Daddy God!  This is “our” time!

Blessings, dear reader.  I will see you soon!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “This is My Sanctuary!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

