joy for grief

Isaiah 61

Amplified Bible (AMP)

61 The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed and qualified me to preach the Gospel of good tidings to the meek, the poor, and afflicted; He has sent me to bind up and heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the [physical and spiritual] captives and the opening of the prison and of the eyes to those who are bound,

2 To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord [the year of His favor] [a]and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn,

3 To grant [consolation and joy] to those who mourn in Zion—to give them an ornament (a garland or diadem) of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, the garment [expressive] of praise instead of a heavy, burdened, and failing spirit—that they may be called oaks of righteousness [lofty, strong, and magnificent, distinguished for uprightness, justice, and right standing with God], the planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.

4 And they shall rebuild the ancient ruins; they shall raise up the former desolations and renew the ruined cities, the devastations of many generations.

5 Aliens shall stand [ready] and feed your flocks, and foreigners shall be your plowmen and your vinedressers.

6 But you shall be called the priests of the Lord; people will speak of you as the ministers of our God. You shall eat the wealth of the nations, and the glory [once that of your captors] shall be yours.

7 Instead of your [former] shame you shall have a twofold recompense; instead of dishonor and reproach [your people] shall rejoice in their portion. Therefore in their land they shall possess double [what they had forfeited]; everlasting joy shall be theirs.

8 For I the Lord love justice; I hate robbery and wrong with violence or a burnt offering. And I will faithfully give them their recompense in truth, and I will make an everlasting covenant or league with them.

9 And their offspring shall be known among the nations and their descendants among the peoples. All who see them [in their prosperity] will recognize and acknowledge that they are the people whom the Lord has blessed.

10 I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, my soul will exult in my God; for He has clothed me with the garments of salvation, He has covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decks himself with a garland, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.

11 For as [surely as] the earth brings forth its shoots, and as a garden causes what is sown in it to spring forth, so [surely] the Lord God will cause rightness and justice and praise to spring forth before all the nations [through the self-fulfilling power of His word].

As long as this chapter is, there is not one part that isn’t important to getting over grief!  No matter what the cause, whether it was the loss of a loved one to death, a divorce,  a rebellious child, financial lack, physical illness, and I could go on and on with all the sorrow we face at one time or another in life, God has made a way out of  GRIEF!

I am not saying people you lost are replaceable!   I am saying the joy you felt before the devil has told you, you will NEVER experience again is not only a lie, but about to be proved wrong in your life IF you will allow God to give you the oil of joy for mourning.

Tonight, I am speaking at a church.  When the lady asked me (she is my dad’s boss, tell me that is not pressure!) I thought, “Oh, I don’t know about this!”  Years ago, I was an inspirational speaker, but God called me away from it for a time.   I missed it and grieved over it for YEARS!!  Finally, one day I said to God and actually MEANT it this time, “You know Father, this is Your thing not mine!  I am merely a servant.  I love you!  If I never speak again, I am fully satisfied!”  Not long after that God began to have me write.  Suddenly, speaking engagements began to open, too.  I worried over it for days!  I told the Lord I would do it ONLY because He told me to and to PLEASE make me WILLING not just OBEDIENT!!  I had grown to love my new life!  Sitting on my couch, Gracie resting on my curled up legs, in my jammies, my laptop resting on the arm of the couch and my fingers flying as God poured His words into me to be poured out to you,  as well as me actually!  Oh, and I cannot forget my favorite coffee beside me on the side table!  Now you know why I always have cups of coffee in my opening pictures.  I always try to get a picture of two cups…one for you and one for me!  🙂

Well, let me get back on track.  I prayed after being asked to speak and asked the Lord if that is what HE wanted me to do.  It was.  I began to search my mind for what to speak on.  Nothing felt right.  I told the Lord, these were HIS daughters, He knew their lives and I was relying on Him for the right message.

One day I was putting on my make-up, not thinking about anything and it hit me.  I am going to give you the full message.  This will help me with tonight and I pray it helps any of you that may be caught in what feels like a trap of sadness and grief!

The Lord reminded me of Isaac.  Sara had died and Isaac did not take it well at all.  The Bible tells us his grief went into full blown depression.  He would not leave her tent, he stopped eating, and the tears would not stop flowing!  Abraham noticed how horrible the death of Sara had been to Isaac and he began to worry about him!  He went to the Lord and told God Isaac wasn’t doing well and he did not know how to snap him out of it, so to speak!  God spoke to Abraham and told him to send his servant to another country.  To send many beautiful and valuable gifts and when the servant got there he would know the maiden that was meant for Isaac.  This is in Genesis 24 if you would like to read it in more detail.

Why did God tell Abraham to send all of those camels ladened with expensive gifts?  He was sending a DOWRY!!!  Oh, God is so good!!  He has it all planned out to the last detail!  He thinks of what we don’t!  He keeps us prepared and ready for the best things in life and then gives them to us!!

God ALWAYS replaces loss!  If you will notice in Genesis 24, God did not resurrect Sara!  BUT, he brought the same great joy through another means…Rebekah!  As you read this chapter, something odd happens.  Isaac sees Rebekah and falls in love with her.  He marries her and takes her into the tent of his mother and she becomes his wife.  Why would Isaac have his honeymoon in his mother’s tent??  I thought this was just outright weird!  I asked the Lord about it and He reminded me the Old Testament is literally types and shadows!  The experiences of the people are actually symbolism.  The reason Isaac did that is because it was speaking of his joy being restored and once where there was great sorrow, it had now been turned to a place of great JOY!!  His mourning had literally been TURNED to great gladness!

God never leaves you in the dust, precious reader.  NEVER!!!!  Don’t box yourself in to what has caused you so much sadness and grief.  Don’t let satan bury you in hopelessness!  If you do, YOU have taken yourself to a place that God CANNOT restore you as much as He desires to!  If you are boxed and buried, you are TRAPPED!!  Shake off your mourning clothes and wrap yourself in God’s glory through praise.  You may not be seeing anything happening, just like Isaac didn’t.  He didn’t know Abraham had called his servant, or that he had prayed for an answer, or that he had arranged a NEW THING!  He didn’t know until he SAW  Rebekah with his own eyes that all the while his restoration had been in the making and YOURS IS, TOO!!  Get ready!!  Believe it is on the way, for it surely is!!

Blessings in abundance, precious reader!!  I will see you soon.  Remember, God loves you dearly and so do I!!

4 thoughts on “Joy For Grief!

  1. I think you were talking to me today. I have lost my son 12 years ago and my husband 6 years ago. i miss them terribly and cant seem to move on. especially since my husband has passed. . I am going to ask God to help me with this as i have in the pass but am really gonna turn it over to him which maybe I haven’t done in the past. Thanks for all your words of encouragement

    1. Oh, precious heart!! That is unimaginable grief to me!! I remember when your precious son passed away! I did not know about your husband! I am so very sorry! Remember, God says, “I will give you double for your trouble!” When Job had lost ALLLLLL, God restored him two-fold EVERYTHING he lost. I pray that over you right now! I break grief and the power it has held over you in the name of Jesus!! I release the blessings of God to flow like a mighty river so forcefully you are caught up in them and taken to every good and perfect thing God has planned for you from the beginning of time!!!! GLORRYYYYYYYY!!!!! Praise the name of the Lord!!! I HAVE TO RUN ALL OVER THIS HOUSE!!! I CAN’T STOP MYSELF!! Get ready Dawana!! GET OUT OF THOSE GRAVE CLOTHES!!! YOU ARE ALIVE FOR A REASON AND JOY WILL COME!!!! I HAVE CHILLS ALL OVER ME! I love you, precious heart!! God loves you, too and HE HAS THE LAST WORD!!!!!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

