when we put God first

Psalm 37

Instruction in Wisdom

1 Do[a] not be agitated by evildoers; do not envy those who do wrong. 2 For they wither quickly like grass and wilt like tender green plants.3 Trust in the Lord and do what is good; dwell in the land and live securely.[b] 4 Take delight in the Lord, and He will give you your heart’s desires.5 Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him, and He will act, 6 making your righteousness shine like the dawn, your justice like the noonday 7 Be silent before the Lord and wait expectantly for Him; do not be agitated by one who prospers in his way, by the man who carries out evil plans.8 Refrain from anger and give up your rage; do not be agitated—it can only bring harm. 9 For evildoers will be destroyed, but those who put their hope in the Lord will inherit the land.[c

One day as I was praying in the Spirit, God quoted part of this passage to me.  I had never seen it the way He said it but when He said it, it was plain as day as we say in Texas.  “He will give you the desires of your heart”.  Stop and think about this for just a moment.  As God began to explain it to me He asked me what the desires of my heart were.  I told Him.  He asked me if I knew why I desired those particular things.  Why didn’t I desire other things?  Why were these my priority?  I honestly did not know.  He then told me, “Because I have put those desires in your heart, and I will give you those desires because it is My will and plan to do so!”  I was floored!!  I had never heard it put that way before. 

When we delight in the Lord…we delight by praising, being thankful, drawing near to Him through His Word and in prayer, but more than anything in loving Him back unconditionally just as He does us something wonderful happens.  He begins to birth VISION in  our hearts!  Then HE  begins to make that vision happen, one baby step at a time!  It says in our scripture HE will give the desire, HE will act!  Now that doesn’t mean we sit back and eat peeled grapes and wait on Him to do everything, BUT we go where He says go and, just as importantly if not more so, WE DON’T GO WHERE HE SAYS NOT TO!

Never let anyone force you to do anything you don’t want to do!  I don’t mean something silly.  Let us say your spouse wants you to attend a wedding and you really don’t care to go.  You can’t look at them and say, “God doesn’t want me to go to that wedding because I don’t desire to.”  That is using God as an excuse!  I mean in your spirit.  When you know deep down inside something just doesn’t feel right, when something is just “off”, when something just checks you on the inside and says no.  When your HEARTS desire is nowhere near what they are trying to get you to do.  FOLLOW YOUR HEART! 

If God has called you to preach, don’t go become an airline pilot.  Go preach!  Go through open doors that come open in the meantime, but keep the vision ever before you!  You didn’t just dream that call up!  GOD put it there as a desire and HE WILL FULFILL IT!!  I don’t care if the world looks like it is against you, not even the world can stand against God and God is for you! 

Stand still, dear reader and see the salvation of the Lord.  What God has called you to, He will fulfill!  What God has spoken to your heart, HE will bring it to pass!  Don’t make something as easy as waiting and listening to God in your prayer time, a hard and difficult thing by getting ahead of Him and doing it yourself!

Blessings in abundance, precious reader!!  I will see you soon!!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

