the love of God

John 3:16

Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

16 “For God loved the world in this way:[a] He gave His One and Only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life.

John 15:13

Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

13 No one has greater love than this, that someone would lay down his life for his friends.

I am writing my post early today.  Actually by the time you see this it will have been written the night before and scheduled for December 23.  Tomorrow is Christmas at Momma‘s.  I am very excited this year because I almost didn’t have Momma for this Christmas.  Through my tears I tell you God is good and greatly to be praised!!  He is so faithful and loves us with a love that no thing or anyone can take away! 

 Momma and I cooked more dishes to be served.  She is an angel I believe.  She made sure everyone had their favorite things!  We talked about the Lord (our favorite subject).  I listen intently to her.  She is definitely a Titus 2 woman!

After I left her house and things quieted down at mine I began to think about this Christmas.  How I would have exactly the greatest gift I could ever have!  My parents, my loving husband, my children, my brother and his family.  I thought of the smells that have grown familiar to me through the years.  Most of all I thought of the love.  The love of God to send Jesus on this blessed day, and my Saviour Who gave Himself so I could not only go to heaven but be blessed beyond measure in the process!

From our scriptures for today, you can see there is no mightier love than the love of God.  I cannot live without love!  Neither can you!  It is a proven medical fact that love is essential to well-being, not just mental but physical as well.  When I was in college one of my core subjects for my degree introduced us to a horrific experiment.  There was an orphanage.  I will not tell the country because I have readers from there and I would never want to embarrass or offend them.  After all, they are not responsible for what went on  almost 100 years ago.  In this orphanage there were a group of babies who were fed, rocked, sung to, nurtured, and shown affection.  There was another group that  were fed and changed.  They were not held, talked to, or touched except minimally when their diapers were changed.  They were not held when given a bottle and never heard a human voice.  These babies did not live to be a year old.  They died in infancy.  The group that was loved thrived and were healthy!  The “discovery” was love is essential to life.

God IS love.  Just like a woman is a woman and a man is a man, there is nothing you can do to change that!  It is WHO you are!  Nothing you can say, wish, or do can change the fact that is who and what I am and who and what you are.  The same thing for God!  His DNA is love!   He, Himself IS love!!  Nothing you can say, do, or think can change Who and What He is and the fact He LOVES YOU WITH A MIGHTY AND EVERLASTING LOVE!!

Has someone told you they would love you forever and then didn’t?  Not God!  God is not a man that He should lie, according to Numbers 23:19.  He has said He will love you forever and never leave you or forsake you and He means it!  Maybe your spouse left you.  Maybe your family is gone.  Maybe Christmas is a difficult time for you because it is a lonely time for you.  You are not alone, precious reader!!  Jesus is right there with you, loving you!!

My prayers are with you!  In fact, let me pray for you now!  Father God, in the name of Jesus, I pray for every reader that I know you hold dear and so do I…I pray they are comforted this Christmas season!  I pray they are blessed and you drop handfuls of blessings and favor on them on purpose.  I pray if there is anything that needs to be righted in their lives, whether a relationship with a loved one or their relationship with You, You give them courage and favor to do that very thing!  I ask for pardoning of sins, reuniting with loved ones, and surprise visits that are filled with joy, love, and peace for this most Holy of days!  I thank you, Father, that this dear reader has found this blog and you wrote it just for them.  I pray they come to know just how precious they are to you and in your sight!  In the mighty name of Jesus I pray!  Amen! (Yes and so be it!)

Expect something good to happen to you, precious reader.  Start your day with the fact you are blessed because you woke up!  Be thankful you are loved every single day of your life!!  If you have God, you literally have everything!!  Blessings to you in abundance!!!!  I will see you soon!

3 thoughts on “The Greatest Gift is Love

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

