53 So Jesus said again, “I tell you the truth, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you cannot have eternal life within you. 54 But anyone who eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise that person at the last day. 55 For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. 56 Anyone who eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me, and I in him. 57 I live because of the living Father who sent me; in the same way, anyone who feeds on me will live because of me. 58 I am the true bread that came down from heaven. Anyone who eats this bread will not die as your ancestors did (even though they ate the manna) but will live forever.”59 He said these things while he was teaching in the synagogue in Capernaum.60 Many of his disciples said, “This is very hard to understand. How can anyone accept it?”61 Jesus was aware that his disciples were complaining, so he said to them, “Does this offend you? 62 Then what will you think if you see the Son of Man ascend to heaven again? 63 The Spirit alone gives eternal life. Human effort accomplishes nothing. And the very words I have spoken to you are spirit and life. 64 But some of you do not believe me.” (For Jesus knew from the beginning which ones didn’t believe, and he knew who would betray him.) 65 Then he said, “That is why I said that people can’t come to me unless the Father gives them to me.”66 At this point many of his disciples turned away and deserted him. 67 Then Jesus turned to the Twelve and asked, “Are you also going to leave?”68 Simon Peter replied, “Lord, to whom would we go? You have the words that give eternal life. 69 We believe, and we know you are the Holy One of God.[j]”  John 6: 53-68

Have you ever told the truth and lost friendships, a deserved promotion, or anything else?  This passage has always fascinated me.  The first thing God pointed out to me is how different Jesus’ reaction was compared with what mine would have been.  I would have run after them and said, “Wait, wait you have misunderstood me!”  Jesus let them go!  Why did He do that?  Because we are obligated to tell the truth as God gives it to us without watering it down!  Jesus said He only said what the Father told Him to say!  How many times has God told you to say something and you thought, “God, I can’t say that!  That would be offensive to them!”  At that point, if you don’t change YOUR attitude you will grieve the Holy Spirit and if you continue to keep people satisfied soon the ministry God has called you to will have little to no power!

I remember when I was first starting out in ministry, I was  substitute teaching Sunday School at a church I did not even attend!  God miraculously just opened that door for me.  He moved mightily during our Sunday School and I was asked to teach a weekly devotional.  The Lord permitted me and we saw mighty moves of God!  I was a novice at all of this.  God began to speak to me in prophetic ways.  I had never been used in prophecy, words of wisdom, or words of knowledge.  People were saved, healed, and delivered.  They were filled with the Holy Spirit and this was a denomination that didn’t even believe in that!

One night a young man came to the devotional.  This young man had been seriously involved in drugs and had been arrested.  He came from a wealthy and affluent family.  I had never met him or seen him, but God told me who he was.  It had to be God because no one introduced us and he did not sit near his mother.  The fact he was there was a miracle in itself.  He had NO interest in God whatsoever!   He was so bound by the enemy, his mother would plead the blood over the doorway and every entrance to their home.  He would come home  high and drunk and when he would go to open the door he couldn’t touch it.  She would go to the door and ask, “Why are you standing out there?  Why don’t you come in the house?” His reply was, “I can’t come in!  You have pled the blood of Jesus over it and I can’t cross it!”  He had no way of knowing what she had done because she always did it after he left!  He would literally sleep on the patio until the next day when the drugs and alcohol had worn off.

On this particular night, God had me call this young man out.  As I prayed over him he began to weep.  I told him things only God could have known.  His own family did not know.  He told me he wanted to be saved and he did get saved that very night.  As I was praying for Him God told me to call out a spirit of suicide and to speak life to his mind.  I panicked!  I said, “God, if I do that it will embarrass him and he will never come back!”  Again, God told me to do it!  I prayed, but I reworded it to sound more gentle.  A few nights later his mom called me to tell me he was a different person.  I asked her if he had ever been suicidal.  She said he had attempted it three times but no one but the family knew and how had I heard.  Immediately, I felt terrible for not obeying God!  I learned a valuable lesson that day!  Obey no matter what people think.

If your motives are pure and truly from God, even if they walk away, you will not be held responsible!  Jesus did not chase people down because He had nothing to apologize for or explain.  His motives were pure, He spoke the truth in love, and He did what the Father told Him to do.  I have heard Joyce Meyer say God told her He will cause people to understand or they would continue to be offended and in the wrong by their own choice.  Either way, she could go in peace and without worry of what people thought!

Speak what God tells you, precious reader!  If your heart is pure and you do it obediently you will have no regrets!  Blessings!  See you soon!

3 thoughts on “What Do You Do When the Truth Offends?

  1. This can be quite the regular thing on here…as more people are apt to say what’s on their mind from the security and comfort of their home and a computer monitor; it’s like road rage. Well over half the people on the road who do mean things would never in a million years act that way outside of their car. As for me, I would say the same things in person or from behind my monitor, yet I would probably be received better in person because people would understand that I have kindness in my voice where they don’t get that inflection over the net. And, fewer people would become less angry in person because they wouldn’t be able to hide…they’d be face to face.

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

