22 And Jesus, replying, said to them, Have faith in God [constantly].

23 Truly I tell you, whoever says to this mountain, Be lifted up and thrown into the sea! and does not doubt at all in his heart but believes that what he says will take place, it will be done for him.

24 For this reason I am telling you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe (trust and be confident) that it is granted to you, and you will [get it].

25 And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him and [g]let it drop (leave it, let it go), in order that your Father Who is in heaven may also forgive you your [own] failings and shortcomings and let them drop.  Mark 11:22-25  Amplified Bible

26 [h]But if you do not forgive, neither will your Father in heaven forgive your failings and shortcomings. Mark 11:22-26 Ampilified Bible

“Prayer won’t work unless you have a forgiving heart.”  Rev. Kenneth E. Hagin, Sr.  I am thoroughly convinced that if you read and study Kenneth E. Hagin’s “Bible Prayer Study Course”,  you are fully equipped to receive anything and everything you need to know on how  to be successful in your Christian life!  This book is thorough and covers many things we rarely hear about any longer!  It teaches how to have a successful prayer life and why you may not be seeing answers to prayers you have been praying in faith for!  I will be quoting from this book throughout my post.

As I was praying in the spirit today, the Lord began to speak to me about unforgiveness.  Someone in my life that I cherish dearly made a very hateful comment about me.  I just found out about it recently and at first I was stunned!  Then, I was hurt!  As I prayed concerning this, I asked the Lord where this attack was coming from.  He told me this person was very immature in the Lord and the reason they were not growing or seeing the fulfillment of God’s plan upon their life is because of unforgiveness.  God showed me, because this person held so many offenses against so many (I am not the only one, there are many more), this person could not and would not move forward in Him.  I knew this person had such great potential in the Lord, but I also knew this person could be volatile and snap over the least thing!  I asked God to show me the root of this anger because this type of anger always has one, and He showed me years and years of offenses and unforgiveness.

There are CHRISTIANS that will mess up, ask for forgiveness from someone, expect them to forget what they did, but will not in turn  do the same for others!  These Christians end up in one mess after the other!  They can’t get jobs.  They can’t hold down jobs they do get.  They can’t stayed married or in any form of a committed relationship! When they are in ministry, their churches don’t grow!   Why?  Because they magnify the faults of others and look at themselves through what Joyce Meyer calls “rose-colored glasses’.  Plain and simple, the devil has bound them!  They are arrogant, wallow in self-pity (remember what has been done to them is always much worse than what they did to you!), and are temperamental!   None of this is the fruit of the spirit, nor is any of it walking in the love of God as we see it in Corinthians.

There is a story in the Bible of someone like this.  Let’s take a look at how God deals with these types of people.

21 Then Peter came up to Him and said, Lord, how many times may my brother sin against me and I forgive him and [h]let it go? [As many as] up to seven times?22 Jesus answered him, I tell you, not up to seven times, but seventy times seven!23 Therefore the kingdom of heaven is like a human king who wished to settle accounts with his attendants.24 When he began the accounting, one was brought to him who owed him 10,000 talents [probably about $10,000,000],25 And because he could not pay, his master ordered him to be sold, with his wife and his children and everything that he possessed, and payment to be made.26 So the attendant fell on his knees, begging him, Have patience with me and I will pay you everything.27 And his master’s heart was moved with compassion, and he released him 28 But that same attendant, as he went out, found one of his fellow attendants who owed him a hundred denarii [about twenty dollars]; and he caught him by the throat and said, Pay what you owe!29 So his fellow attendant fell down and begged him earnestly, Give me time, and I will pay you all!30 But he was unwilling, and he went out and had him put in prison till he should pay the debt.31 When his fellow attendants saw what had happened, they were greatly distressed, and they went and told everything that had taken place to their master.32 Then his master called him and said to him, You contemptible and wicked attendant! I forgave and cancelled all that [great] debt of yours because you begged me to.33 And should you not have had pity and mercy on your fellow attendant, as I had pity and mercy on you?34 And in wrath his master turned him over to the torturers (the jailers), till he should pay all that he owed.35 So also My heavenly Father will deal with every one of you if you do not freely forgive your brother from your heart his offensesMatthew 18:21-35

When someone is unforgiving, they don’t punish the one they haven’t forgiven, the incur God’s wrath upon THEMSELVES!   According to Brother Hagin “No one can have an effective prayer life and have anything in his heart toward another.  You can’t have revenge in your heart, and you can’t have hatred in your heart.  You can’t have that old ‘get even’ spirit and continue to prosper.

You’re not responsible for that other person’s life; you’re responsible for YOUR life.  In other words, another person’s heart and what is in it can’t hinder you, but what you have in YOUR heart against another CAN and WILL hinder you.  That means any grudge or ill will at all WILL hinder your faith.” 

Dear reader, Bro. Hagin died pastoring one of the largest churches in the United States and had a Bible College in Broken Arrow, OK as well as extensions all over the world! His son carries them on to this day!   I have not reached that capacity.  In order to be successful, we would do well to look to the example of other people who have!  But, don’t misunderstand me, God is the greatest example of ALL and as long as I have known Bro. Hagin I have known what he has taught to be  right on target with the Word of God!

Dear reader, let us check our hearts today!  Don’t let anything, especially past hurts or disappointments you can do nothing about hinder God’s mighty and blessed will for our lives!  Let us ask God to search us, and give up all offense and unforgiveness that may be there in order for us to bring glory to Him!  May God’s blessings abound to you!  See you next time!

9 thoughts on “When Does Prayer Become Powerless?

    1. Praise God! I have to admit, Wayne, I am not a writer. I wish I could! Everything I get, God gives me…I simply take dictation! Glory to God, He always knows what we need just when we need it!! 🙂

  1. I needed this! I have a friend at work who is a believer but having such a hard time letting go of another co-workers immaturity. This friend is clueless when it comes to what I have tried to help her see… which by the way is so easy for me to see without emotion because it didn’t happen to me.
    I love how you worked through your friend’s faux pau and have grown through it! I have to go to work today but I am going to print your words and give them to my friend!
    But also keep them for me… because unfortunately, in this world, usually something you see in someone else…seems to always bounce back to us. Hey?
    I get so annoyed when I am sitting there wishing a certain person could be hearing this perfect sermon meant just for them and miss the message “I” was supposed to be getting. LOL…
    Love your heart!!!!

    1. Believe me understanding of “immaturity” didn’t come to me overnight and I have to admit, I was a great deal like your friend! Once, the Lord began to show me, it was much easier to deal with and to be patient with! It helped my love walk, too!! 🙂 So glad you commented! You are a blessing!!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

