17 Therefore if any person is [ingrafted] in Christ (the Messiah) he is a new creation (a new creature altogether); the old [previous moral and spiritual condition] has passed away. Behold, the fresh and new has come!  2 Corinthians 5:17  Amplified Bible

Have you ever been effected by someone else’s opinion of someone you didn’t know?  You “heard” things you didn’t see yourself, but you allowed your attitude toward that person to be shaped around what you heard?  Or maybe the situation was you knew this person years ago, did not care for them, and then you see them again and instead of giving benefit of the doubt, you automatically “mark” that person with the same old attitude you had of them 20 or 30 years ago.  I am so glad God did not do that to me.  I am so grateful to Him that He loved me at my “ugliest”, took me and reshaped me into what He wanted me to be.   Just like David said, even when I was a worm, God metamorphosized me into a butterfly.

So many times we see people years later after their “ugly” days, and we never give them a chance to be who God has transformed them to be which is the new creation instead of the old, which has passed away.  We label them according to what they WERE, not who they ARE!  Recently, someone came back into my life.  I had seen and heard some things years before about this person.  I was very guarded with them.  I was still envisioning who they had been before.  This is someone who I see often and have to encounter on a regular basis.  I began to pray for who this person used to be.   I told the Lord, “Father, either change them or change me.”  I left my prayer at that and went on my way.  That night as I was about to go to bed this person’s name came to my mind and God’s peace flooded me!  I thought, “I am not going to worry about this, God has given me peace so it is alright!”  The next day I got up and this person’s name came to my mind again.  When it did, that same peace flooded me.  I had no idea what it meant, but I knew God had taken care of it somehow.

It wasn’t long until I saw this person.  When I did, instead of guarded, I was happy to see them.  We had a conversation I greatly enjoyed!  I could tell God had done a work in this person!  I was still seeing them in what I call their “cocoon” stage, when this person was now a butterfly flying toward the light of God!  I hugged them and we said our goodbyes and went on our way.  I realized, it wasn’t that person that had been wrong, but it was ME!!  I had thought wrongly about this person, and in so doing I had almost lost an opportunity of having a new and wonderful friendship!  I wasn’t walking in love, for if I had been, I would have seen the BEST in this person and not the worst of what they used to be!

How many times do we prejudge and stay in that state of mind based on someone’s past?  Even a past that we have only “heard” about and because of that we never gave that person an opportunity or chance?  How many friendships has God brought our way and we never recognized they were treasures in “earthen vessels”?  How would WE have felt if they had done to us what we did to them?  What if they had judged us on our past, instead of who God has made us to be now?  Do unto others….you, get the point!

I love our scripture.  He transforms us making us “new creatures” in Him!  God didn’t leave me in my “wormy” state and I have no right to think I am the only one God can “transform” and make exactly as He wants me to be!

Walk in love and not in “prejudgment”, my dear reader!  God wants to transform relationships that are meant to be gifts to you in the form of people!  Don’t miss out on a beautiful opportunity of forgiveness and second chances!

Blessings to you today!  I will see you next time!

6 thoughts on “Preconceived Notions Will Prevent You From Receiving Great Gifts!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

