Yesterday we talked about the first step in prayer.  We know we ask  according to the Word of God, believe in faith, and receive in your heart.  The Bible says when we pray we know He hears us and answers us!  We know God stands behind His word and if we pray according to the word, He guarantees He will answer!  Not all  answers to  prayers are instantly seen.  In fact few answers happen instantly!  Usually there is some degree of waiting.  Many times this is where the fruition of our prayers can be lost.  People pray, they don’t see an immediate result and therefore come to the conclusion God’s answer was no and they stop expecting and  believing for what they have prayed for.  This couldn’t be further from the truth!  It is trickery from the enemy to get you to stop your faith which has power to move mountains!

In Philippians 4:6 it tells us,6 Do not fret or have any anxiety about anything, but in every circumstance and in everything, by prayer and petition ([a]definite requests), with thanksgiving, continue to make your wants known to God.”  Amplified BibleWhile we wait, this verse tells us we thank God for the answer!  It also tells us to have NO anxiety about anything!  Why?  Because fear and anxiety negate faith in God answering us!  We are to always pray with thanksgiving!  Gratitude will take you to new levels of latitude!  Mark 9:23 tells us that ALL things ARE POSSIBLE TO HIM WHO BELIEVES!  ALL is a big word to be only three letters!  All means ALL!   Let me give you an example of what gratitude in the wait will do for you.  When Hurricane Rita came through Texas in 2005 my home was hit.  I had retired from teaching school in 2002 and we were totally debt free.  It was my son’s senior year and when we evacuated it was not cheap.  We incurred debt, again.  We now faced the expenses of his senior year, his upcoming freshman year of college, and the expense of evacuation, and my mother in law died two months later and my father in law did not have all the money he needed for her funeral.  It was so funny but as much as my husband and I fought to stay out of debt, even though we began to incur quite a bit, I had perfect peace!  We had our house repaired and our insurance company was very good to us, our son graduated, went into college, but still there was debt hanging over our heads.  One night (God speaks mainly to me at night) I began to think of all the blessings God had given me all of my life!  I began to name them off one by one, just like the old hymn says.  Suddenly, I could no longer lie in bed.  I had to get to a place where I could kneel and thank God for all He had done for me.  I quietly slipped into the bathroom, so that I didn’t wake my husband and fell to my knees, raised my hands and began to thank God with all of my heart!  About six weeks later a check for an exorbitant amount of money showed up on my doorstep!  It paid ALL our debts off and we had more besides to give in tithe and offering to our church and to other ministries!  Glory to God!!  But wait,  it doesn’t stop there!  Two days later I was given a BMW all expenses paid for as long as I owned the car!!  Gratitude moves the hand of God in blessing, my precious reader!  Fretting and worrying STOPS it!  It literally ties God’s hands from giving you what He  so desperately  wants you to have!! Gratitude is what led me to write this blog!  I was so filled with gratitude I could feel praise bubbling inside me and God spoke to me to write it down and share it!  I would not be here today with all of my precious readers and fellow bloggers if I had been upset my mother had, had to go through surgery instead of giving thanks to God for bringing her through it!

You can never underestimate thankfulness.  It is a form of praise and praise moves the hand of God beyond anything you can imagine!  Praise always yields an increase!  Just because you may have to wait a little while to see the answer to your prayers, if you have prayed according to the Word, don’t listen when the devil says, “Well, God did answer your prayer…He just said no!”  Oh, no He did not!  You prayed in accordance with the Word of God, therefore you prayed THE WILL OF GOD!  If it is His will, His answer is yes and it is on the way!  Thank Him while you wait and expect great things!!

I am so glad you stopped by, dear reader!  I hope you were blessed by the devotional today!  I will see you next time!

11 thoughts on “What to Do While You Wait (The Power of Prayer Series, Part 2)

  1. Wonderful message Juliana, and as you shared it is very important we pray in The Spirit and in Truth. Jesus said we do not have because we do not ask or we ask for selfish reasons but I’m in agreement with you when it is in the heart of God, He hears and answers us always. To pray in Jesus’s name is to also pray in obedience, God tells us He does not listen to the prayers of those who sin accept for repentance, in this His mercy overflows.

    John 14:13-15 And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it. If ye Love me, keep my Commandments.

    Psalm 9:31 Now we know that God heareth not sinners: but if any man be a worshipper of God, and doeth His will, him He heareth

    Psalm66:18 If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me: But verily God hath heard me; He hath attended to the voice of my prayer. Blessed be God, which hath not turned away my prayer, nor His mercy from me.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

