Last night, my husband and I went out to eat.   I live in Texas and we live in a farming community.  As we were coming back from the city, my husband said, “Look at that goose in that trailer.”  What was odd about it was the fact it was a cattle trailer and it had a single goose in it.  The trailer had a wide opening at the top.  The goose at any moment could have flown out of the top to freedom.  I told my husband to speed up and let me look to see if the goose was tied up or encumbered in any way in  the trailer.  As we got even with the trailer there was a cage that had three sides but was missing the fourth so there was an “out” for it.  It wasn’t tied up by anything.  The goose could easily have gotten away.  What kept that goose from flying to its freedom?  It could only see what was in front of it.  It never looked up.  It had no idea it did not have to live imprisoned.

I began to think about this.  So many times it seems as though the current circumstances of our lives are never ending.  It seems as though it has been this way for so long why even expect a change.  I read somewhere today, the one thing you can be sure of is change!  Many times people see change as a negative thing, but change can be for the better!  Your attitude determines your altitude is a quote from Joyce Meyer and it is so true.  Had that goose just looked up a little it could have seen freedom  was a matter of about five feet away!  So close, yet not realized because all it could see was the immediate.  That is where we go wrong many times!  We think the present will be the future, too!  We think of the past and magnify all the negative experiences and think, “This has been my life, why expect anything  different? “Because God has a plan!  Jeremiah 29:11 Amplified Bible  says, “11 For I know the thoughts and plans that I have for you, says the Lord, thoughts and plans for welfare and peace and not for evil, to give you hope in your final outcome.”

That is God’s will for our lives!  We need to look up and stop looking at just what is happening in the present.  This moment is temporary!  Look up in your attitude.  Be positive in faith!  Know God’s plan holds mighty promises!  They may only be “feet” away!  Don’t miss it by looking down on yourself or your present situation, or even your past!

Remember when God gave the rainbow as a promise to Noah and the future generations to come He would never flood the earth again?  Was the rainbow on the ground?  Was it directly in front of him?  No, it was in the sky, a place we all have to look up to see!  Look up, because that is where God plans for you to go!

Blessings to you, dear reader!  I hope this daily devotional was a spiritual encouragement for you!  See you soon!

9 thoughts on “Don’t Get Trapped in the Present!

  1. THANK YOU. Just what I needed to hear. I see God moving me in a new direction, a bit outside of my comfort zone. All I need to do is look up & keep my eyes on Him. He knows the plan He has in store. I don’t need to see the big picture. I just need to focus on Him and follow His lead. Love you Girl!

    1. As a brain cancer survivor, Principal / Director of a Head Start Program in Orange, Texas, and wanna’ be Christian I want to say thank you for your blog. That was an awesome analogy and will not be soon forgotten as I face this new school year Monday, August 27th coinciding with my first treatment of Chemo as my Oligodendroglioma tumor has reoccured.

      1. Shannon, I will be praying and believing for you! I have a post that gives healing scriptures on how God heals ALL our diseases! I think it would really encourage you! You say “wanna be” Christian…I take it you are not born again and want to be? It is so easy…just say this prayer, “Dear God, I admit I am lost and have sinned….I believe Jesus is the Son of God and He died for my sins and rose again. I take Him now into my heart and make Him Lord of my life. Jesus forgive me of all my sins…be my Lord and Saviour. Thank you for cleansing me and making me a new creature in you! You are now saved and heaven will be your home! So glad you stopped by, Shannon…I am expecting a beautiful testimony that I am sure will come! God bless you immensely!!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

