Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition,
with thanksgiving, present your requests to GodPhilippians 4:6

Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.  1 Peter 5:7

When I was a young mother I had someone literally say this to me, “If you aren’t worrying about your baby, you aren’t loving your baby.”  What a bunch of baloney!!  The definition for baloney (I looked it up to be sure I was spelling it right)is ” foolish or deceptive talk; nonsense”.  Oddly,  that is what comes from worry!  As a young mother I fell for this as good advice!  I developed such worry for my children I was almost suffocating them, so to speak.

Our scripture tells us NO WORRY is acceptable to God!  It is a cousin to fear.  When my children were young and I told them not to do something, they would be corrected if they went ahead and did it!  When I said, “Do not!”  I meant DO NOT!  If they did it and  disobeyed me then consequences followed.  God tells us not to worry or fear.  Let us look at scriptures that back this up.  They are as follows:

2 Timothy 1:7 reads For God has not given us the spirit of fear; but power, and love, and a sound mind.

Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

Deuteronomy 31:8 “It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

Romans 8:15 ” For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!”

Hebrews 10:38 Amplified Bible  “38 But the just shall live by faith [My righteous servant shall live [a]by his conviction respecting man’s relationship to God and divine things, and holy fervor born of faith and conjoined with it]; and if he draws back and shrinks in fear, My soul has no delight or pleasure in him.”

To “fall away -falling aside or deviating from the right path.” (Hobbs Commentary) or “Fall  aside” as the Strongs puts it,  means we are no longer pleasing God if we are in fear, because we have left faith.  Without faith, we cannot please God!  Fear begins to take on new meaning when we begin to operate in it as opposed to love and faith which work together hand in hand!  You don’t receive from God by worrying, you receive by believing the word and doing things God’s way, which is standing on the word, asking and believing you receive whatever you have asked for as it agrees with the word!

Let me tell you what worrying about my kids got me.  It DID NOT make them safer, healthier, happier, smarter, excelling, full of self-esteem, etc.  Instead, it created health problems for me, created a spirit of fear in them, caused them to pull away from me (who wants to be around someone who panics?) because fear hath torment as the Bible clearly states.  1 John 4:18 says, “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.”  In other words, if I am full of worry and fear, I have not matured yet in Christ!  Thank God, He taught me a better way and my children and I have a wonderful relationship now!   Remember what I always say…worry is a trouble magnet…it draws trouble to you, it doesn’t repel it from you!

We should love one another, but when we feel God speaking to us about someone and something concerning them our response should be to  PRAY not WORRY!  Worry never accomplished anything but negativity!   The Bible tells us to “Do not fret— it only causes harm —Psalm 37:8  How plain can God put this?  I love what Oswald Chambers says in the the book “My Utmost For His Highest” and I quote:

Worrying always results in sin. We tend to think that a little anxiety and worry are simply an indication of how wise we really are, yet it is actually a much better indication of just how wicked we are. Fretting rises from our determination to have our own way. Our Lord never worried and was never anxious, because His purpose was never to accomplish His own plans but to fulfill God’s plans. Fretting is wickedness for a child of God.

Have you been propping up that foolish soul of yours with the idea that your circumstances are too much for God to handle? Set all your opinions and speculations aside and “abide under the shadow of the Almighty” (Psalm 91:1). Deliberately tell God that you will not fret about whatever concerns you. All our fretting and worrying is caused by planning without God.”

Instead of worrying, dear reader, PRAY!  Commit that thing to God!  Only the Holy Spirit can effectively do anything with it anyway!!  Prayer and trusting God is what shows love, not worrying, fretting, and pacing the floor!  Step into God’s love for yourself and people…you will find perfection there and only there!

Blessings to you, dear reader!  I will see you next time!  Oh and as a P.S.  If this post makes you mad, well all I can say is you have one more thing to pray about….I am just the messenger!  But, I say it in love!  🙂

10 thoughts on “I Am Worried About You Because I Love You?

  1. Fyi, I shared this with a friend today. I am sure she will be blessed by it, just as I was after re-reading it! Have a wonderful day!!! 🙂

  2. Yep….It’s been a constant struggle for me and the only way I’ve found to banish it (yes, it keeps coming & coming & coming) is prayer & meditating on scripture. There are a few verses I’ve memorized to quote in the middle of the night. 🙂

  3. Wonderful post! Gave many scriptures to sustain your word. Thank you so much for sharing God’s word and many, many blessings to you…Robin

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

