As a dog returns to its vomit, so a fool repeats his foolishness.  Proverbs 26:11 NIV

I have seen lately things that have grieved my spirit.  People who once were ministers of the Gospel posting their children who just turned 21 having their first beer (legally) and they bought it for them.  You may say, “Well, there is nothing wrong with drinking….the Bible says be not drunk with wine which is excess.  He didn’t say it was a sin to have it.”  I am just quoting what I have actually heard.  But, let me ask something.  Just because you may be able to handle something that isn’t in  “excess”, does that mean the person you are introducing into that world will be able to be to handle it without “excess”?  You can guess but do you actually know??  I heard Joyce Meyer say once that she and Dave used to have wine.  God convicted them because it could be a downfall to one of lesser maturity.

You and I are responsible before God and before our families and others, especially if you are carrying the title of minister or have told people you are called to formal ministry, to never be a downfall to another.  The Bible says it would be better that a millstone be tied around ones neck and be thrown into the sea, than to cause an immature believer to stumble!  Paul pulled no punches either on this subject.  He writes in 1 Corinthians 10:23 “All things are lawful for me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but all things edify not.”  A  minister, and when we are born again we all are called to minister the Gospel of Jesus Christ, but I am talking about people who go by the “title” of minister and those who tell people they are called to the “title” of minister, are supposed to be the highest example of Jesus!  I am not saying you must be perfect, but you must strive to not be a downfall to others!

I see former ministers, and maybe this is why they are “former”, posting pictures where they should be embarrassed by what is lacking on their physical bodies, to “show off” their workout.  Comments about their wives that should be left to the privacy of a marriage relationship! Their wives talking about the wine they drink and the more they plan on drinking,  as though drunkenness is something to be admired and “fun”!   They talk like, act like, and think like the world when we are all called to be salt and “set apart” from worldly ways!   Christians “hooking up” with men and women who they are unequally yoked to.  And then they marry them and wonder why and how their lives turned into a living hell, so to speak.  Paul writes a warning about this in 1 Corinthians 6:14, “Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?”  International Standard Version (©2008)

We will ALL give an account for our actions, Christians as well as unbelievers!  The Bible also warns us that once our minds have been renewed with the Gospel of Jesus Christ and, if those whose minds have  go back into the world, there is no higher or greater hope.  You had it all when you were serving Jesus!  You could have had even more if you had continued to serve Him without compromise.  Once a house has been swept clean the enemy does come back to see if it is occupied by Jesus.  If he finds it empty, the Bible tells us, the state of that person will be seven times worse than what their original state had been!   I had an uncle who was a pastor and minister and he always said, “You may be playing for fun, but the devil is playing for keeps!”  Is it worth it???  Sin is fun for a season, but when that season is over the consequences can last a LIFE TIME!  Go into the prisons and ask murderers, extortionist, embezzlers, etc. if it was worth the consequences!  They will tell you NO in a heartbeat and have probably appealed their cases over and over to get out of that prison!!  There are mental, emotional, financial, and spiritual prisons, too!  You may not end up in a literal penitentiary, but a mental and emotional prison is just as punishing, if not more so. A physical prisoner can get saved and set free and have peace in their minds at least.   The Bible says in the last days even some of the VERY ELECT will be deceived.  Don’t fall into that category!  You have not been raised up out of the ashes by God to act as a fool!!!  You know not what you lose!  Sin will take you further than you want to go and will keep you longer than you want to stay!  God will never withhold good from them who seek HIM!  Proverbs says WISDOM CRIES OUT!  It yells, “NO!  DON’T GO THAT WAY!!”  but, a fool will not listen.  What is sad is one day, if you continue in that way instead of God’s way, the consequences of that behavior will not be silenced and you will not be able to drown them out!  Wake up while there is still a chance and time!!

18 thoughts on “God Did Not Raise You Up To Be A Fool!

  1. Ouch…great topic today – I saw myself in that article. We do not drink but there are other areas in my life that I can change… today in the sermon our guest pastor explained what KISS stands for (taken from Cory TenBoom) Keep It Simple Stupid! Although I can not imagine Cory TenBoon saying God is calling us stupid, I will have to find to out which book it is in and read the whole context – knowing Cory she is most likely calling herself stupid. But when I read your message my first thought was I was kissed by God!! After years saying I have been kissed by God – I now get it – and who says God doesn’t have a sense of humor? Through His power He also has an awesome sense of timing. So I will change it a bit and say thank you for the KISS (keep it simple sweetie) from God. My message from your article is to keep it simple: to walk with the Lord and to not be a fool by walking with the world… Blessings ~ Patty

    1. I love that! Lol! Yes, I am with you we will say Keep It Simple Sweetie! I had an aunt that always said the best formula for Christian success she knew was stay in the word, stay on your knees, stay in church! I love it and it makes perfect sense! It works, too! Thanks for commenting! I enjoyed reading it, but I love everything you write anyway, so what is new?? 🙂

    1. Thank you, Eddy for your comment. I can’t answer for other churches, but in my church it is. Thank God we go to a church that is balanced in the teaching! Balance is the key in everything I have found…when you are out of balance in anything, you are in trouble a pastor’s wife once taught me….she was so right!!

  2. Another thing, regarding alcohol, in most every instance in the Bible, anything fermented actually symbolizes corruption. Wine in the Bible oftentimes means: vinegar, unfermented wine (grape juice), wine, and symbolically, it has other conotations. Here is an awesome article to support what I am saying; rarely was wine ever used to mean fermented wine. http://www.tektonics.org/lp/nowine.html Another good one that mentioned the verse in Timothy regarding drinking wine…highly misunderstood. http://www.johnhamelministries.org/wine_lie_Jesus.htm Thought i’d share the info sis! God bless!

      1. And the day is coming very soon where we will all stand before our Lord…all of us…and give account. So many people are deceived. The Bible tells us that not everyone who says, “Lord Lord” shall enter the kingdom of heaven. There are a lot of people who believe they are going to heaven and believe they are saved. Well, God never took their salvation away, the walked away from their salvation, living in unrpentance. Furthermore, I called someone the other day who tried to use the whole, “There is therefore now no condemnation for those of us who are in Christ Jesus” verse, basically, supporting some fo the things they do and say. I said, “Yes, but you are forgetting the important part..for those of us who are IN Christ Jesus! So if you are “IN” Christ Jesus, you’re not living like the world at all. I just saw a great article on a fellow bloggers site talking about wine and this verse, and he was dead on! People have found loopholes to make it okay to sin…and they can keep on doing it…and they can keep on getting mad at people for instructing them against their false doctrines, because here soon they’re going to find out differently..and then they’ll realize we were only trying to help them..but it will be too late.

  3. Perversion has definitely crept in to the body of Christ and poisoned so many. Christians who think many of the world’s behaviors are acceptable and okay..such as worldly television shows that portray lust, sex, homosexuality, and adultery, and all sorts of other unpleasantries. Preachers who speed up the service to get home and watch a football game or other sporting event…. all I can say is that the Bible warns us that demonic spirits more powerful and wicked than those that are already in the world would be unleashed in our day.

    1. Yes, this is so true! I appreciate your comment, Lyn…I knew this one wouldn’t be “popular”, but I couldn’t stop thinking of Jeremiah as I wrote it. God would not let me back out of this. My devotion yesterday was “I will call you to things that you will be afraid of what others may think, but I am calling…fear them not.” I had no idea what would transpire in that time to cause me to write this. Thank you, again! I needed the “exhorting”! You are a blessing!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

