When I am driving and I see a police car, the first thing I do is check the speed I am going and my eyes automatically doublecheck my tags and inspection sticker just to be sure I am within the confines of the law!  Even knowing I am not breaking any laws I am still fully aware of what that car and the man or woman behind that badge represents.  I know if I am not within the confines of the law, what the consequences can be.  The badge represents authority!  They have the authority to tell me, and any number of people, to stop, when to go, to detour me to a safer route, etc..  I don’t argue.   I do what I am told to do.  Why?  Because they have an authority I don’t have!  I also don’t think I would like closed in,  locked down living quarters with a room mate  whose  nickname may be “Killer“!!

When Jesus was about to ascend into Heaven He told His disciples in John 14:12-14  NIV12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes   in me will do the works I have been doing,   and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13 And I will do whatever you ask  in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.  He also says in Luke 10:19 “I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you.”  Jesus had given them power while He was with them on the earth, but also said even greater things would be accomplished (as in magnitude) with the authority of His name after He had gone back to Heaven.

Not long ago while I was at church my pastor asked us all to just worship and wait on the direction of the Lord.  As we were standing, the Lord began to speak to me.  He said, “I never expected my people to just accept whatever came down the pike!  That is why I have given them authority over the devil!  If I had wanted you to just accept everything that came your way, I would not have given you the authority to stop and thwart the devil’s tactics against you.”  Why would Jesus die not only for your sins but for the healing of sickness and disease and for your peace if God wanted you or anyone else to “learn” something from illness or anything else that could be harmful to you.  The Holy Spirit is our teacher and the Bible is our textbook, if you will.  If God was putting something “on you”  to teach you a lesson or because He thought your life getting a little harder would be a great help in some way to you,  then why would He sacrifice Jesus so that you could be delivered, set free, and healed?  The Bible says it is satan that comes seeking who he can steal, kill and destroy!  God doesn’t work against His word…He stands by it to perform it!  God gets so much blame for what the enemy does.  God can never do evil!  He says His people perish for the lack of knowledge!  If you don’t know what you have you will never be able to take your place, which is ruling and reigning in the spirit on the earth.  You will find yourself always sick and tired of being sick and tired!

The enemy is no gentleman!  He will go as far as someone will let him.  If they don’t know God’s will and the rights they have as a Christian, then they will never live the life Jesus died to give them!  I heard someone say recently, “Well, God knows what I can handle.”  He sure does!!  He knows you can handle that two-edged sword called the Bible and you can handle and hold up the shield of faith!!  Adam gave the authority God gave him in the Garden of Eden to satan by sinning against God.  Jesus came as the “last Adam” to get that authority back for us through His death, burial and resurrection!  He went and got the keys to death, hell and the grave.  He stripped satan of his power to permanently harm us as it says in Colossians 2:15 “And having disarmed the powers and authorities, he made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross.”  I love that!  Jesus made the devil a laughingstock!!  Who has the power and authority?  We do through the name of Jesus, because He took back what the devil stole from Adam and gave it back to us!  I like what someone said one time, “If that doesn’t light your fire your wood is wet!”

Satan knows that we have that authority and the Bible says that even the demons tremble at the mention of Jesus’ name!  That is the reason we can rebuke the devil at his “onset” and he HAS to flee.  He has no choice in the matter!  Praise God, our Heavenly Father thought of everything!  Remember what is rightfully yours, dear reader!  God only has His best in mind for you.  If it isn’t in line with what the word says you can and do have, speak the word, praise God and take back what is yours in the name of Jesus!  It is there for you to use!!

Blessings to you, dear reader!  I will see you soon!

2 thoughts on “God Has Given You Authority!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

