Proverbs 18:21  “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will  eat its fruit.”

Matthew 12:34-37    “Brood of vipers! How can you, being evil, speak good things?   For  out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.   “A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth  good things, and an evil man out of the evil treasure brings forth evil  things.  “But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment.  “For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”

James 3:5-8      ” Even so the tongue is a little member and boasts great things.   See how  great a forest a little fire kindles! And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity. The tongue is so set among  our members that it defiles the whole body, and sets on fire the course  of nature; and it is set on fire by hell.  For every kind of beast and bird, of reptile and creature of the sea,  is tamed and has been tamed by mankind.  But no man can tame the tongue. It is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.”

When I was a little girl my mother would sometimes have to caution me on “watching my mouth”.  She meant watch your tone and your attitude!  Our words are a direct reflection of what we have thought about.  The Bible says what is in our hearts, which is representative of our thinking or our minds, will come out of our mouths.  If you don’t particularly like someone, it is likely you will not speak well of them, especially if they have done something to offend you!  You have thought about this person in a negative way and when their name is brought up, the acidic and biting words of the tongue comes out!  Oh, it may be done with a smile on the face, but it is meant to be a dart and that person the target!! When you think ill of someone, you WILL speak ill of that person.   Let me use myself as an example.  I know of a young lady who  thinks more of herself “than she ought” as the Bible says.  It is so obvious and in your face, so to speak, you can’t miss it no matter how much you try!  She decided she liked my son.  She said many things about him and her intentions toward him, which included marriage!  This young lady lives a very loose lifestyle during the week, but puts on another face for church on Sunday!   My son is a minister.  He is very careful to walk uprightly before the Lord and this young lady does not carry the same values.  She is much too worldly and much too young!  When I found this out from someone I laughed.  They began to tell me some of the silly things she had said and I laughed more, which encouraged this conversation to continue!  It wasn’t long until others in the room began to basically make fun of this young woman by the behavior she had exhibited.  Later when I went to bed, the Lord began to deal with me about my part in this (the laughter).  He said, “Would I mock, laugh, and talk about her?  If you do, when this young lady begins to see how her haughty attitude has brought her to a fall how will she be able to turn to the more mature women of the church for help?  She is just a kid!  She will need a mentor to guide her in the right direction which will bring her closer to Me.  What if it were you?  What if someone took a fault of yours and began to laugh and talk about it in a group, especially it being a group of people who hug you on Sunday because you go to their church? (This young lady does not go to my church by the way).  My Son was mocked as He was crucified.  I hate mockery!  Repent and turn your attitude away from this behavior!”  Now folks, only a simpleton could ignore this!  I had to go apologize to the person who told me this and then I repented with literal tears to the Lord!  If the shoe were on the other foot, I would have been furious and probably would have left this “group” of people for people who truly did care about me!  We are to live the example Jesus lived and He would never drive a “lamb” from the “flock”!!  My word, fellow Christian, we are trying to get them IN the church, NOT drive them out!!!

It says in Matthew 12:36  “And I tell you this, you must give an account on judgment day for every idle word you speak.”  No wonder God says to keep our words few!  An idle word is a word that doesn’t bring forth good fruit!  We know good fruit is the fruit of the spirit which is described in Galatians 5:22-23 which says:

22 But the fruit of the [Holy] Spirit [the work which His presence within accomplishes] is love, joy (gladness), peace, patience (an even temper, forbearance), kindness, goodness (benevolence), faithfulness,

23 Gentleness (meekness, humility), self-control (self-restraint, continence). Against such things there is no law [[a]that can bring a charge].  Amplified Bible

I was not patient or “long-suffering” as it says in one translation with this young lady.  I knew a little of this and she had gotten on my nerves with it, and that is what evoked the laughter.   In no way was my behavior correct but thank God it is CORRECTED!!

None of us are perfect!   It says in Ecclesiastes  7:21-22  ” Also do not take to heart everything people say, lest you hear your servant  cursing you.  For many times, also, your own heart has known that even you have cursed others.”  Cursing here does not mean to literally “cuss” someone as we say in Texas, but it means to speak negatively of and think negatively of someone.   The best way not to take an offense is to let things go when people say wrong things about us because they are not developed  spiritually as they should be,  and remember at one time we were immature and said and thought unwise things, too!

Tomorrow is the funeral of a dear relative of mine.  She was 83 years old and a pillar in our church!  Not ONCE did I ever hear her say a critical or unkind word about ANYONE!!   The Lord spoke to our church right before she died and revealed to us that  when she came home there would be a celebration in Heaven and she would have a place of honor there,  just as she had here and she had earned many crowns!  She was the love of God in action!  Even when she was hurting so badly, she would open her eyes and look at you and give you a reassuring smile!  She never put herself first!  She always put God first.  Her motto was, “Stay on your knees, stay in the word, and stay in church!”  This is definitely a formula for success for us as Christians!  This kept her mind in line with the mind of Christ and her “talk”, too!   Look at what it got her…..REWARDED and made her a role model for us all!   That is what I want to be when I see my Heavenly Father face to face…REWARDED and never a disappointment to Him!  I want to hear what this precious saint of God heard…”Well done thy good and faithful servant….enter in!”

Have a blessed day, dear reader!  See you soon!

2 thoughts on “Watch Your Mouth!

  1. This is beautifully written and so true. Juliana you will surely have an abundance of blessings waiting for you in Heaven. Thank you for always writing what God places in your heart. You are ministering to so many people including me. Thank You!

    1. Angie, you do not know what these words mean to me! Today was Aunt Doris’ funeral and I thought, “God, can I even be half the woman she was?” I take this as a confirmation of great things to come….here and in Heaven! Thank you, my precious friend!

God bless you! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

